Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > LinusTechTips Q&A

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 05:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default 2011 vs Ivy bridge

I am thinking the 2011 because of the 8 DIM slots available. I want to utilize ram disk for certain things. While with Ivy bridge, right now motherboards only support 4 maybe 6. But is Ivy bridge worth sacrificing the couple extra DIM slots?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 05:22 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

troll in the dungeon!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 09:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jibz View Post
troll in the dungeon!
LOL, you mean, Troll is out of the dungeon now! What the heck do you need all that ram for?

P.S. - I know, I shouldn't bite....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 10:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default

I want to use RAM disk. I thinking of tossing a game on it for better load times and what not. Nothing super practical, mainly just because I can.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 11:13 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Wouldnt a bigger SSD serve your purpose instead of populating all RAM slots?

I see a set of RAM for 2011 its around $200. Might as well keep 16GB (4x4) or 8GB (4x2) and use the leftover money for SSD.
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2012, 11:17 PM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
Wouldnt a bigger SSD serve your purpose instead of populating all RAM slots?

I see a set of RAM for 2011 its around $200. Might as well keep 16GB (4x4) or 8GB (4x2) and use the leftover money for SSD.
RAM disk is about 3X a RAID SSD setup's speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 07:51 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

If you have the $$ for LGA2011 and the need for the extra memory then there is not reason to get IB instead.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 12:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default

What is this IB you speak of?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 12:27 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Ivy Bridge?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2012, 11:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Ivy Bridge?
Oh ok. Yeah that was my question. If IB would be worth sacrificing the memory. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wait or Ivy Bridge? Or Bite the Sandy Bridge? geokilla CPU's and Motherboards 14 April 11, 2012 10:37 AM
sandy bridge E or wait for ivy bridge for 1155 gingerbee Off Topic 4 February 1, 2012 08:07 PM
Sandy Bridge-E to Launch in 2011? SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 14 July 22, 2011 10:24 AM
Vista Security 2011 virus removal (aka Xp and Win7 sec 2011) Jeff1961 Off Topic 15 April 28, 2011 08:02 PM