Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > LinusTechTips Q&A

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2012, 02:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default GA-990XA-UD3 sata speed with ssd is slow?!

hi i have a question for you guys ... if that is normal?! ty all
Attached Images
 

Last edited by DoocMoStar; April 3, 2012 at 03:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2012, 08:43 PM
EmptyMellon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Arrow

Those number are only good for a previous gen SSD - SATA II, 3Gb/s, which yours is not.

1. Have you installed your Windows 7 Pro from scratch or did you restore it from an image/back-up? Should do a clean install if you have not done so.

2. Have you enabled AHCI, in the BIOS? Your mobo might be defaulting to "Native IDE", need to change that to "AHCI"

If you don't know, check your motherboard's manual, Sec. 2-6, page 45; if you don't have a manual, you can download/save it from: http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList...90xa-ud3_e.pdf

[FYI, in the future, don't be afraid to create a thread in the appropriate section (i.e. Storage or Troubleshooting), for better visibility and quicker response by fellow members.]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2012, 05:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default I have try all

Hi have try all dont work.!!!! Help plz!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2012, 05:50 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

is it a boot drive or you just try it as a secondary drive? try switching the sata port
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2012, 03:10 PM
EmptyMellon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Arrow Try using ATTO and/or Crystal Disk Mark 3

Two things:

1. Can you check in your BIOS that your SATA3 is "Enabled" - same section and page
OnChip SATA3.0 Support

Enables or disables the SATA 6Gb/s function integrated in the Chipset. When set to Disabled, the SATA controller will operate in SATA 3Gb/s mode. (Default: Enabled)

2. Could you run additional SSD tests using ATTO or Crystal Disk Mark 3, and see if they give you the same results? [Edit: You are using AS SSD to do the test, and that is a punishing software; I am sure you will see better numbers using ATTO and/or Crystal Disk Mark.]

Last edited by EmptyMellon; April 5, 2012 at 05:16 PM. Reason: Removed point 3.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2012, 04:50 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1

My System Specs

Default

Hi all!
I have the some problem!
- Chip Sata Type = AHCI
- On Chip Sata 3.0 Support = Enabled
- Partition aligned
- AMD Sata Drivers 9xx Installed (latest version)
- MB Bios F9 Updated
- Corsair Force 3 Firmware 5 updated.
- Black Sata 6gb Cable installed
- Trim Enabled
- Reg Msahci 0

Seq
Read 197
Write 85

512k

Read 188
Write 80

4k
Read 16
Write 62

4k qd32
Read 96
Write 84



What can be happening here? Help!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2012, 04:11 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1

My System Specs

Default



Not sure why your having so much trouble. I'm running the same board with a Vertex 4.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill Exhibits Its Latest Phoenix II SATA 6Gbps SSD at CeBit FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 March 20, 2011 06:17 AM
OCZ Unveils the Vertex 3 and Vertex 3 Pro SATA 6Gbps SSDs FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 6 February 27, 2011 01:40 PM
Crucial Shipping C300 6Gbps RealSSD FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 1 October 14, 2010 04:02 PM