Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE CANUCKS COMMUNITY > LinusTechTips Q&A

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 02:29 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Question Budget gaming machine - AMD

I'm new to the forums and first of all i would like to say hello to everybody. I am not a native english speaker so maybe i'll have some mistakes in the following post. Ok, let's go :
I have a tightened budget for building a gaming rig.I was thinking of going to AMD platform because of the costs.Here's what i've been thinking of :

CPU : AMD Athlon II X4 631 Quad Core, 2600MHz, socket FM1
MB : Gigabyte A75M-S2V, socket FM1 (i want this motherboard, no other suggestions please, i have my reasons :) )
GPU : Gigabyte ATI Radeon HD6850, 1024MB, GDDR5, 256bit, HDMI, DVI, PCI-E
HDD : Western Digital Caviar Blue KX, 500GB, 16MB, 7200rpm, SATA 3
PSU : Rasurbo Silent-Power DLP-55.1, 550W (Is this enough power?)
RAM : Kingston 8GB 1333MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL9 DIMM (Kit of 2x4GB)

I already own a DVD-RW, keyboard, mouse,monitor and W7 x64 Ultimate.
For other informations regarding the CPU + GPU i used this website : http://www.cpubenchmark.net/ and AMD x4 631CPU and ATI HD6850 are the best value components in their opinion.


Do you think that if i buy A8-3850/3800 APU + Gigabyte ATI Radeon HD6850 i will get better performance in games? I will benefit of Crossfire?

Thank you

LE : I want to play : All series of Crysis (1,warhead,2), Mafia 2, GTA IV, Far Cry 2, Fifa 2012, PES 2012, COD: MW 3 and MW 2, Battlefield 3, HoN, LoL, Dota 2, World of warcraft, EVE Online, Assassin's Creed (all series),Hawx, NFS Shift,The Run, Hot pursuit.. etc. and every other game for the next 1 or 2 years.

I plan to later upgrade to a SSD for installing the OS and the game which i curently play.

Last edited by bnn1; January 19, 2012 at 02:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2012, 04:28 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,577

My System Specs

Default

Nobody heard of Rasurbo, so I suggest you put a good name in there for PSU : Corsair, Seasonic, XFX Core edition. Any unit from these manufacturers that is 500W and 80 Plus or 80 Plus bronze would give you peace of mind and keep you on track. Caviar blue is a kinda slow drive would suggest Seagate 7200.12 or Samsung Spinpoint F4. You are already bent on that mobo, but you know, from AMD camp best gamers are the Athlon II X3. Add a small and used geforce 8/9 card to have PhysX calculations also and you should be fine.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 08:40 AM
Lyserberg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

GTA IV will need a lot of CPU goodness,i suggest no less than 4 real cores (an AMD Phenom 2 X4 or a bulldozer will do the trick)
Also the CPU u mentionned is not socket FM1,FM1 is an APU socket,the socket must be AM3 or AM3+ to support that.
All games u mentionned r more optimised for NVIDIA's architecture (especially HAWX,Mafia and CRYSIS 2 and GTA IV which glitches so much on AMD cards),a GTX560Ti will do the job just fine.And personally i don't suggest a physx card :/
Other than that follow MARSTG,he knows what's good for you :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 08:55 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyserberg View Post
Also the CPU u mentionned is not socket FM1,FM1 is an APU socket,the socket must be AM3 or AM3+ to support that.
Wrong. Athlon II X4 631 is a llano FM1 chip, and is specifically on the motherboard's CPU support list.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyserberg View Post
GTA IV will need a lot of CPU goodness,i suggest no less than 4 real cores (an AMD Phenom 2 X4 or a bulldozer will do the trick)
I ran GTAIV when it first came out on a 1.8GHZ dual core processor. I was limited more by my video card than by the processer.

Also, the Athlon II X4 631 IS a quadcore chip... Hence the X4!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyserberg View Post
,a GTX560Ti will do the job just fine.
A GTX560Ti is $100 more than either a 6850 or a 6870. This is a budget build, and AMD GPU's typically provide much better bang for your relative buck.


To the OP: If you can afford to go with an A8 3850 APU, I don't think it would be a horrible idea. It's definitely a faster processor than the Athlon, plus you have the advantage of crossfireX-ing the IGP and your discrete card. I'm pretty sure that IS possible.

Another alternative would be to stay with the Athlon, and move to a 6870 GPU. The difference between the 6870 and the 6850 should be the same as the difference between the 3850 and the 631 (about $30)
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;

Last edited by great_big_abyss; February 3, 2012 at 09:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 10:05 AM
neojjjk's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ind/Can
Posts: 203

My System Specs

Default

MB : Gigabyte A75M-S2V, socket FM1
CPU: AMD A8-3870K 3GHZ
RAM : Kingston 8GB 1333MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL9 DIMM (Kit of 2x4GB)
HDD : Western Digital Caviar Blue KX, 500GB, 16MB, 7200rpm, SATA 3
GPU :MSI N550GTX-Ti Cyclone OC
PSU :XFX Core Edition PRO550W
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 11:45 AM
Lyserberg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Dammit!they told me FM1 only supports APU!? that's weird?!
When i talked about GTA IV,i really meant the margin BTW last generation cards and the actual cards we have here,if u grabbed a GTX260 and run it at 1920x1080,i'm sure the card will do 60FPS (not constantly) just fine as a GTX590,the thing is GTA IV isn't really taking advantage of the current generation video cards,but buying more powerful CPU and Overclokcing it proved to have significant impact,probably more than going as i said from just an old GTX260 to a GTX590.The CPU is a very important factor in games like GTA IV.
I suggested NVIDIA based on the type of games he want to play,so i'd say that NVIDIA may be the best bang for the buck in the majority of those games,probably he can go for another card on the NVIDIA line of graphics cards,but afterall an AMD video card will do just fine :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 05:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 47

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyserberg View Post
Dammit!they told me FM1 only supports APU!? that's weird?!
When i talked about GTA IV,i really meant the margin BTW last generation cards and the actual cards we have here,if u grabbed a GTX260 and run it at 1920x1080,i'm sure the card will do 60FPS (not constantly) just fine as a GTX590,the thing is GTA IV isn't really taking advantage of the current generation video cards,but buying more powerful CPU and Overclokcing it proved to have significant impact,probably more than going as i said from just an old GTX260 to a GTX590.The CPU is a very important factor in games like GTA IV.
I suggested NVIDIA based on the type of games he want to play,so i'd say that NVIDIA may be the best bang for the buck in the majority of those games,probably he can go for another card on the NVIDIA line of graphics cards,but afterall an AMD video card will do just fine :)
i never understand what you are saying ever... maybe try an english dictionary? anyway you dont need a quad core for gtaIV and you dont need a $700 video card. any decent card with 1gb+ ram will suffice @1920x1080. Nvidia is also no more "bang for your buck" than amd/ati is, its all a matter of preference.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
amd a8-3850 , amd athlon ii x4 631 , gigabyte hd 6850

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$1400 Gaming Machine (FB) averageScrub New Builds 6 September 9, 2011 12:02 AM
New gaming machine can't decide which way to go rmb New Builds 15 July 30, 2010 07:31 AM
[FS] Parting out Gaming machine Gunner86 Buy/Sell & Trade 26 March 10, 2010 11:05 AM
[FS] i7 920 Gaming Machine LC0g Buy/Sell & Trade 26 February 19, 2010 01:32 PM
New Gaming Machine FoxFire CPU's and Motherboards 8 September 22, 2007 05:45 PM