Go Back   Hardware Canucks > Mac, iPhone & iPod > iPhone & iPods

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2011, 10:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 40
Exclamation iTunes Question

Hey.
I have my itunes music organized into 2 folders, one I ripped off my iPod so its in ipod format, and labels (for songs) like BSQP and I can't understand them. The other is organized nicely into folders for the bands.
So my question,
Whenever I have to import my itunes tracks (reformating and such) I have to spend hours on end deleting duplicates, and removing songs I don't want (that were probs. from the iPod format folder).
Is there a way to make the itunes library organize itself and clear this up for me?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2011, 10:22 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Your best bet would to just use a single iTunes library/folder. Then have iTunes organize it for you.
What I am going to tell you below is for an Apple computer, but Windows should be pretty similar. Go in to the iTunes preferences and make sure Keep iTunes Media folder organized and Copy files to iTunes Media folder when adding to library are both checked.


Then under File, Library, Organize Library. Make sure consolidate library is checked. And check reorganize files in the folder "iTunes" if you can. Click OK. This will copy and organize all your iTunes library in to folders.


After it is done you can click File, View duplicates and it will show all of the songs that it believes are duplicates. Then just delete the ones you want.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2011, 10:23 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

There should be a display duplicates option under file, it should work as long as the metadata for your songs is correct. Otherwise I would just suggest using foobar2000.

EDIT: ninja'd
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2011, 10:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilya View Post
There should be a display duplicates option under file, it should work as long as the metadata for your songs is correct. Otherwise I would just suggest using foobar2000.

EDIT: ninja'd
Yes I know, but you still have to select every other song. and I have over 12 gigs of duplicates :(

Alright Lowfat, ill try that. thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2011, 11:03 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PH93 View Post
Yes I know, but you still have to select every other song. and I have over 12 gigs of duplicates :(

Alright Lowfat, ill try that. thanks!
12GB of duplicates

O boi. That would take a long time to delete individually. After you have the library consolidated you may be able to find other software that could get rid of the duplicates.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2011, 12:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
12GB of duplicates

O boi. That would take a long time to delete individually. After you have the library consolidated you may be able to find other software that could get rid of the duplicates.
I have a script now ;3
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2011, 12:46 AM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

My problem with the Itunes select duplicates option is it can't tell the difference between title of song and type...ie mixed version, live version ect.

Your 12gb might be of tracks you want to keep.

What I do (on a PC) is have all my songs (currently around 200gigs) in one folder with artists in subs.

When loading my library fresh, like recently after I did a new OS clean install, I add my library about 10 gigs at a time (A artiste, then B artists) reason being I find If I add too much at once Itunes skips/misses files/songs.

Whenever I add a new album/artist/song I simply add the specific file, not the whole library.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2011, 10:45 AM
southbay's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 56

My System Specs

Default

Try this program: Remove iTunes Duplicates, Fix Misspellings, add Album Art | Rinse
I had around 6gb of duplicated music? it doesn't work the first time, it'll take 3 times but it saves you hours of manual configuration!
__________________

Corsair 550d
Intel i5 Quad Core 2500k @4ghz
GTX 570
Asus
Corsair HX 750W
G.Skill sniper 2x4GB
OCZ Agility Series 60GB SSD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
itunes data still usable? PerryC iPhone & iPods 2 May 11, 2011 07:39 PM
iTunes 9 Trackinfo LC0g O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 February 17, 2010 07:56 PM
Itunes pops up randomly Cadence O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 August 28, 2009 08:27 PM
iTunes Transfer darkorb Networking 3 September 10, 2008 07:55 PM
BSOD from iTunes? :| curtispan Troubleshooting 3 January 5, 2008 04:23 AM