Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2016, 08:23 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,629

My System Specs

Default Plex

Is anyone else getting asked for subscription constantly? Free mode should work at home no problem?
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2016, 06:48 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,367

My System Specs

Default

Working fine for me, lifer though. Asked a couple buddies that use the free and everything is normal for them. Sorry Hades
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2016, 07:48 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,629

My System Specs

Default

Hmmm. I thought it was free on a home network. Ive watched some vids on my pad before with no issue now it's asking for subscription.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2016, 10:52 PM
wirerogue's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 144

My System Specs

Default

some platforms are free and some require subscription.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2016, 07:30 PM
vulcan500rider's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 527

My System Specs

Default

Late to the party, but yes, free works great. I use it for my home network, and quite enjoy it. You do sometimes have to buy the app, depending what platform you're putting it on (Android boxes, for example), but it's only a couple of bucks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2018, 10:57 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 6,124

My System Specs

Default

Hey guys.....I have a WD Portable HDD (2TB) with all my Media on it and its plugged into my Asus RT AC68U Router. I also have 3 WD Media boxes spread out thru my house.
I instaled Plex on my Mac Book Pro and directed it to my Media on my Network...I can use Plex in a crude kind of way on my WD Media Boxes thru my MBP but it had to be up n running with Plex running for it to work.
Im not a Network expert at all but can follow step by step instructions ....I do have a Merlin FW version on my Router.

Question...is there a way to install Plex on my Router so i can access it rhu my WD Media Boxes / Network.....no PC's or MBP running?
__________________

Firestrike Extreme: 21.452
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14167916
MARK 11: 32.530
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/12496075

Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2018, 12:59 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,774

My System Specs

Default

No
5char
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plex & Thecus n5810pro issue mr_robot_h HTPC Systems & Software 0 April 9, 2016 03:38 AM
WIP Plex media server Daedalus2002 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 15 January 15, 2015 06:37 AM
Plex Help squadz O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 October 21, 2013 02:02 PM
G530 and plex w0z HTPC Systems & Software 2 January 28, 2013 07:21 PM