Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2014, 04:51 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 99

My System Specs

Default PC > (HDMI) > TV > (SPDIF) > 5.1 Speakers. Doable?

Hey guys,

I'm looking to hook up my PC to my TV, which would output to some 5.1 speakers. I haven't purchased the speakers yet and while I prefer not to, the TV can still be returned if it doesn't allow for this setup.

PC is running on an ASUS Maximus VII Hero. Additional specs are in my profile.
TV is a Sony KDL48W600B with S/PDIF out only.

From what I've pieced together, 5.1 audio will pass from the PC to the TV via HDMI. The Sony website says that the TV supports 5.1 audio out, so that must be via S/PDIF. From what I can see, the only missing piece would be some nice 5.1 speakers with an S/PDIF port.

Is it really that easy? Am I guaranteed to get 5.1 sound with the above setup?

Thanks! :)

Frugalmeister
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2014, 05:56 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Sorry, but it wont work.

Digital outputs from TVs can only be used when you run an OTA HDTV signal directly to the TV, the TV will display the image and let the audio pass through via SPDIF. That output can't be used for anything else.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2014, 06:06 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,782

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Sorry, but it wont work.

Digital outputs from TVs can only be used when you run an OTA HDTV signal directly to the TV, the TV will display the image and let the audio pass through via SPDIF. That output can't be used for anything else.
Is that a function of the HDCP protocol?

Over and above that, to the best of my knowledge spdif is limited to 2 channels so even if it would pass the information through it wouldn't be 5.1.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2014, 06:09 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Is that a function of the HDCP protocol?

Over and above that, to the best of my knowledge spdif is limited to 2 channels so even if it would pass the information through it wouldn't be 5.1.

Nothing to do with HDCP afaik. But I've tried exactly what the OP suggest a few times and it never works. TV companies want you to buy their receivers, but they also want to say that their TVs can do OTA HDTV, so they do this instead.

SPDIF can absolutely support 5.1
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2014, 06:14 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,782

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Nothing to do with HDCP afaik. But I've tried exactly what the OP suggest a few times and it never works. TV companies want you to buy their receivers, but they also want to say that their TVs can do OTA HDTV, so they do this instead.

SPDIF can absolutely support 5.1
Yes, but does spdif out of a PC typically support it? I've been playing with this a bit recently myself (outputting to a receiver though) and haven't been able to come up with more than 2 channel output through spdif.

(edit: there's always the chance that I'm doing something wrong though.... ;) ).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2014, 07:44 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,125

My System Specs

Default

Any tv that I have tried to do audio out from will only output 2 channels.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2014, 09:12 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal
Posts: 99

My System Specs

Default

But the Sony TV I have specifies "5.1 Channel Audio Out" in its specs.

Just found this article which may help:

20 TVs tested: Which sets can pass surround sound to a sound bar? - CNET

Frugalmeister
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2014, 09:45 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Yes, but does spdif out of a PC typically support it? I've been playing with this a bit recently myself (outputting to a receiver though) and haven't been able to come up with more than 2 channel output through spdif.

(edit: there's always the chance that I'm doing something wrong though.... ;) ).
SPDIF is more than capable of carrying more than 2 channels its just a matter of the material you are watching.

Quote:
S/PDIF can carry two channels of uncompressed PCM audio or compressed 5.1/7.1 surround sound (such as DTS audio codec); it cannot support lossless formats (such as Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio) which require greater bandwidth like that available with HDMI or DisplayPort.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2014, 09:59 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,782

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
SPDIF is more than capable of carrying more than 2 channels its just a matter of the material you are watching.
The option isn't available for either of the realtek onboard setups from the motherboards in my Sig. Unless I'm missing a setting somewhere, the options in properties for the realtek digital output only allow for dual channel out. There's a suggestion on one forum wrt hacked drivers, but I haven't bothered as I only need stereo.

The option for multi-channel OP is available under the analog speaker settings, but not for realtek digital out.

As I said... it's possible I'm missing something but I've been looking at this on and off with different onboard audio setups for over 6 months and still haven't come up with more than two channels out of optical spdif.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; August 17, 2014 at 10:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2014, 05:55 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,625

My System Specs

Default

I have that setup : PC output via HDMI from GTX 460 to TV, done with DVI to HDMI cable, TV output via optical out to Onkyo receiver, and from the receiver you output whatever you want or the receiver can do, Dolby Digital, DTS, Stereo. I find that best sound is DTS. In the sound setup of the TV , External speaker must be selected instead of TV speaker for the audio stream to be directed to the receiver. The TV is also hooked with a Bell PVR via HDMI and like that I keep the sound on the receiver all the time. The audio stream passing from the TV to the receiver will be just a stream, will not be 2 channel or 5.1 channels, it will be decoded by the receiver itself, so you will need a receiver with optical input.
__________________

Last edited by MARSTG; August 18, 2014 at 06:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Logitech Z5500 Satellite Speakers *just speakers* Eagle Eye Buy/Sell & Trade 5 July 7, 2011 07:44 AM
PC to TV with HDMI, TV to Amp and speakers with RCA duffman03 HTPC Systems & Software 9 December 2, 2010 07:23 AM
Can't get spdif out on ga-ma78lm-s2h biff HTPC Systems & Software 3 July 4, 2010 07:28 PM
Sound works through HDMI on TV, none through Speakers Myiagros Audio 6 September 1, 2009 09:51 PM
spdif in to analog 5.1 out? undacova Audio 5 August 10, 2009 11:35 AM