Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2014, 11:44 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,306

My System Specs

Default is there a system that can use a power brick?

I was thinking of making a am1 build for a simple HTPC I would use everything on board the thing is the PSU I want the system to be as small as possible , I was looking at ncix they have a MB here http://www.ncix.com/detail/asrock-am...95085-1229.htm

but then it dawned on me that then I would need a PSU isn't there a power brick like what is used for laptops or other media players that would work.
I have a couple of media players the one I was using is so slow to load up and the fan ( tiny little thing) was getting noisy I try to lube it up and ended up breaking the fan now that media player gets hot , so I switched the media player for a old WD media player which is pretty fast but I have to use a pen drive or a external hard drive .
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2014, 11:55 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,686

My System Specs

Default

I think what you're looking for is a Pico PSU...

NCIX.com - Canada's Premier Computer Store - Online PC Discount Store, Buy Computer Accessories

*Edit* Depending on what you're looking for on a whole, you may want to consider a Zotac ZBox instead. It saves you the trouble of building a system, but nets you a solid multimedia device for a reasonable price. You're just limited in your ability to upgrade it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2014, 11:57 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

You could get the higher end ASrock motherboard: http://www.ncix.com/detail/asrock-am...95084-1229.htm that just requires you have a standard laptop power brick/adapter.

No need for a PICO power supply if you have an old laptop power brick. Only downside to that is only ONE hard drive can be powered by the on-board sata power.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2014, 12:02 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,686

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
You could get the higher end ASrock motherboard: http://www.ncix.com/detail/asrock-am...95084-1229.htm that just requires you have a standard laptop power brick/adapter.

No need for a PICO power supply if you have an old laptop power brick. Only downside to that is only ONE hard drive can be powered by the on-board sata power.
That's actually pretty cool. I've never seen this on a board before. It's too bad about the limitations for expanded power, but if you're only after a single drive HTPC, this could be a solid option.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2014, 06:04 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,306

My System Specs

Default

Cool thanks for the links I am going to check them out
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New GPU and no system power JJThomp Troubleshooting 3 December 21, 2013 08:19 AM
is this power enough for my system coco10 Power Supplies 12 June 16, 2010 04:38 PM
Power supply for this system rfielder New Builds 25 January 12, 2010 08:32 PM
System Power Requirements for Radeon 5870 RBA Power Supplies 1 September 23, 2009 05:41 PM
Teaming Power Supplies for Single System CroSsFiRe2009 Power Supplies 12 July 4, 2009 05:54 PM