Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2014, 10:11 AM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default HDMI-DP converter vs pure HDMI

Hi guys,

Just realized that my video card (HTPC build) has no HDMI outputs (4xDisplay Ports + 2xDVI). I was planning on connecting the rig to my Sony receiver via HDMI. So now I can either,

1) Get a HDMI-DP converter then connect using HDMI cable to receiver
2) Get a new video card and connect using HDMI cable to receiver

Obviously I'd prefer the former since it'd cost me like $10. However, I also don't want any image/audio quality loss, not to mention that I'd need that converter to still carry both audio/video signals across to the HDMI cable. Also would HDCP still work?

Thanks!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2014, 10:43 AM
Rockfella's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default

Half ass connectivity option. Make shift HDMI never as good as real HDMI.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2014, 10:59 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

I am currently using a DP to HDMI adapter and have no issues passing 1080p with audio to my receiver.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2014, 11:13 AM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
I am currently using a DP to HDMI adapter and have no issues passing 1080p with audio to my receiver.
That's nice to know. Gonna pickup a converter today and try it out. Thanks!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2014, 11:22 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

DP = Digital
HDMI = Digital

Unless the DP to HDMI adapter is of crap quality you'll be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2014, 12:16 PM
SpaceSquad's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 40

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
DP = Digital
HDMI = Digital

Unless the DP to HDMI adapter is of crap quality you'll be fine.
Yup...As far as I know, they are incredibly similar...so I have no idea why an adapter would be an issue.
__________________
-Space
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2014, 12:52 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Doesn't DVI pass audio through a DVI - HDMI adapter as well?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2014, 01:01 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Doesn't DVI pass audio through a DVI - HDMI adapter as well?
Yep, has for a while now. I know for the 4 series ATI cards could do it natively, and the GTX200's needed the cable running from the video card header to the motherboard. Everything after that I believe is possible natively.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2014, 06:31 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Well the converter works. However, my 1080p Sony TV shrinks the HTPC desktop even though it's set at 1080p as well. I had to go into CCC and play with the stretch display area to overscan to fill the TV screen. Is this what I supposed to do or did I screw up somewhere?
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2014, 08:08 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

That is pretty standard, I even have to do that with my 27" with the 7970
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LAPTOP HDMI TO LCD TV HDMI NOT WORKING appplejack Display Units 15 May 3, 2014 11:15 AM
Dvi to hdmi help jimmyb007 Peripherals 2 March 28, 2012 05:18 PM
VGA vs HDMI ecck Video Cards 9 January 16, 2012 09:39 AM
HDMI 1.3a or 1.4a? mo' power Audio 3 December 2, 2010 10:53 AM
HDMI>DVI-D? TheWanderer Display Units 3 May 1, 2010 09:53 PM