Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2013, 10:09 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

the splitter is the only way plug HDMI into TV , then output TV ( head phone) to the splitter into the Amp unless of course the TV has rca or other type of output which some do have surround out the only way to know is to check out the brand of TV or look at the back of the TV or Monitor and see the Outputs.

oops I should correct myself I just rechecked the back of my TV and what I had thought where out puts where inputs
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2013, 10:20 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

ARC

Audio Return Channel is a feature built into the latest versions of HDMI (1.4, and presumably future versions). In its most basic description, ARC sends audio from the TV back down the HDMI cable to something like a soundbar, home theater in a box, and even a few A/V receivers.

yes TV needs OUTPUT of digital audio to amp that support dolby #11

notice #10 supports subwoofer
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; October 1, 2013 at 10:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2013, 10:59 AM
rfglass's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Elgin Grey/Bruce
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

I'll probably need something like this to get away from the 1/8" pin to rca. I'll just keep it simple. Thanx all
http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20dist...02%20port.html
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2013, 11:55 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

That seems expensive for what you want to do.

What is wrong with running HDMI to your tv, and pin/RCA to your receiver? That's why I do on my HTPC, and it works fine!
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2013, 02:56 PM
rfglass's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Elgin Grey/Bruce
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
That seems expensive for what you want to do.

What is wrong with running HDMI to your tv, and pin/RCA to your receiver? That's why I do on my HTPC, and it works fine!
That's what I'm going to do. Simple and cheap
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2013, 08:16 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,946
Default

Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; October 13, 2013 at 08:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2013, 02:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

I'd be trying to run the audio directly to the receiver from the computer myself. There should be an audio output on the computer or sound card and an audio input on the receiver which runs all the channels after that. You can do it either RCA, HDMI or Optical typically. Optical doesn't support lossless audio though for Bluray so HDMI 1.4+ is always gonna be the best option. RCA jacks should support lossless audio too. It really depends on the receiver.

A decent receiver is an important aspect of running home entertainment IMO and rather than buy that piece of equipment you posted I'd invest that money into a receiver that has multiple HDMI inputs and one or 2 outputs to your TV/Display. These receivers typically have multiple audio input options to help you connect everything while providing the best audio for each of your devices.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2013, 05:33 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,520

My System Specs

Default

Your receiver does not have Optical audio in?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI Sound Issue Dr_BenD_over Troubleshooting 7 October 7, 2013 11:40 AM
GTX 580 HDMI sound mardig88 Troubleshooting 9 January 20, 2012 07:36 AM
Sound via HDMI to TV Bond007 Troubleshooting 20 February 16, 2010 04:09 PM
HDMI and no sound Wurmer Troubleshooting 12 July 3, 2009 04:17 PM
No HDMI sound from my P5E-VM biff O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 January 8, 2009 06:45 PM