Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2013, 11:02 AM
Ravenor's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 181

My System Specs

Default REMOTES THAT PEOPLE ARE USING FOR THEIR HTPC'S

Hey Everyone. I'm using a wireless mouse right now for my HTPC but I find it's not the greatest. Range from the box to the mouse is about 5.5 - 6 feet, mouse doesn't always seem to send the signal and always requires line of sight to work. Any Recommendations that keep the price under $50 for a decent remote. I want something that can RMB and LMB click and scroll up and down and have decent range.
__________________
How am I suppose to act randomly without some direction? Anyone? Bueller? - Deadpool
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2013, 11:10 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,634

My System Specs

Default

Does it have to be a remote? I'm a big fan of the Logitech K400 wireless keyboard / touchpad unit.

Logitech K400 Wireless Touch Keyboard With Built-in Multi-Touch TouchPad Black
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2013, 11:11 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

I use my phone, best remote you can possibly use, other than maybe a tablet.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2013, 11:17 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
I use my phone, best remote you can possibly use, other than maybe a tablet.
Yup same,While I have a few Harmony remotes (880/One/Touch) connecting VIA my Tuners IR. I find myself picking up my Tablet more often than not when I want to do something more than play/pause/stop.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2013, 11:42 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Yatse for XBMC
Unified Remote for everything else
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2013, 12:19 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,396

My System Specs

Default

obviously you would need some type of receiver to receive the signals from your tablet or phone where do you find such type receivers?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2013, 12:25 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
obviously you would need some type of receiver to receive the signals from your tablet or phone where do you find such type receivers?
No receiver needed it is normally done via a server client installed on the HTPC, some are native, I know my PB app for WMC needs no server client software it just works but thats WMC only.

EDIT: Just to clear things up Shadow it uses your wireless network to send the signal from your tablet/phone to the HTPC.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2013, 12:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,508

My System Specs

Default

The Logitech K400 is the best thing ever for HTPC. Furthermore, it's a universal USB device, meaning you can use it with whatever supports the universal USB protocol. I've used it on Xbox 360, PS3, WDTV, my smart TV capable Panasonic plasma, etc.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2013, 01:05 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YukonTrooper View Post
The Logitech K400 is the best thing ever for HTPC. Furthermore, it's a universal USB device, meaning you can use it with whatever supports the universal USB protocol. I've used it on Xbox 360, PS3, WDTV, my smart TV capable Panasonic plasma, etc.
I have not used the K400 but I do own a couple wireless HTPC keyboards, 1 trackball, 1 touchpad. The problem I find with them if you are looking for a remote is simply the size, sure you can type on them but how often are you needing to use a fullsized ( or slightly smaller KB footprint) on a HTPC? I know for how I have mine setup I hardly have to use more than 1-2 keys before autosearch brings up what I am looking for mediawise.
IMO, again IMO, if you are going to use a keyboard with a HTPC then yes something like the K400 would work but if all you are going to use the HTPC for is well HTPC support then someform of a remote works better.

Sadly OP it has been years (XP days) since I bought just a remote and usb/IR and thats getting pretty dated nowadays.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2013, 01:50 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,035

My System Specs

Default

I'd rather use a keyboard/mouse combo than a remote. Especially if you are using something like XBMC and have a large library. Unfortunately there aren't any good ones. I've tried pretty much every micro keyboard/trackpad combo and they all aren't very good. I now use a K400 and it is tolerable but so big and bulky.

I've tried pretty much all the Android or iOS tablet apps and IMO they aren't all that great either.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have people here ever used UDK? ShinraCorp Gaming 0 February 14, 2013 05:17 PM
Why do people put........ crazyea Off Topic 35 July 18, 2012 08:38 AM
People from MTL I need your help FlyingFish Off Topic 12 July 30, 2011 11:15 AM
What's with you people? Squeetard Off Topic 38 October 15, 2009 05:00 AM
Samsung Remotes - Q element291 Display Units 0 July 9, 2009 02:25 PM