Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2013, 08:22 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,283

My System Specs

Default

what about wireless game pads I read that they work really well also but
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2013, 09:57 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,231

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Ok, that unified remote is pretty damn cool even if it wasn't quite what I was looking for. I had to manually enter the IP as it wasn't picking it up but other than that it seems to work as advertised.

Now that I've seen that I'm off to find some kind of actual remote desktop software as my media server is not hooked up to the living room TV. I'm mostly looking for something I can access my media library on a remote PC with and then create playlists to send through the network to my onkyo amp. (Media player has the option to "send to" the amp which I'm assuming with work if it's turned on and set up for network access).

edit: The device I'm using is a 7" nexus so as a remote / keyboard app the unified remote is amazing.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2013, 07:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

I tried using my Android Tablet. But it didn't make sense to me. I have purchased a few items over the years. MCE remotes and Logitech mediaboard, trackpad with lighted keypad.

I am currently trying out this I got for $8 with fs from ebay a while back: LOFREE MT-200. The keys don't light up but is a nice multitouch trackpad great for windows 8 / 7 browsing.

Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2013, 06:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,231

My System Specs

Default

I've still got my K400 for full access on my latest attempt at keeping a PC hooked up to the main TV, but was really enjoying Universal Remote on my tablet in all aspects other than the fact I found a 7" tablet to be a bit unwieldy for the great majority of remote functions so I bought myself a used smart phone strictly for WiFi use.

$100(ish) might seem like a lot for what is essentially a MCE remote, but it'll be a neat little toy to play around with.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2013, 08:32 PM
JohnWayne's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: US - Massachusetts
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default

nobody's installed USB Ports in the Couch?
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2013, 10:52 AM
Ravenor's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 169

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnWayne View Post
nobody's installed USB Ports in the Couch?
This is just damn genius, but I will take a a step further. Touchpads installed in the arms of couches and chairs with the IR blaster/bluetooth built into the legs. Someone patent this now!
__________________
How am I suppose to act randomly without some direction? Anyone? Bueller? - Deadpool
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2013, 11:02 AM
Ravenor's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 169

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justmehereajax View Post
I tried using my Android Tablet. But it didn't make sense to me. I have purchased a few items over the years. MCE remotes and Logitech mediaboard, trackpad with lighted keypad.

I am currently trying out this I got for $8 with fs from ebay a while back: LOFREE MT-200. The keys don't light up but is a nice multitouch trackpad great for windows 8 / 7 browsing.

That look's very interesting. Please report back on your findings on functionality and range. Especially range!
__________________
How am I suppose to act randomly without some direction? Anyone? Bueller? - Deadpool
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2013, 11:07 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

The problem with that keyboard is lack of tactile feedback and they always feel weird.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2013, 11:11 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,041

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I've still got my K400 for full access on my latest attempt at keeping a PC hooked up to the main TV, but was really enjoying Universal Remote on my tablet in all aspects other than the fact I found a 7" tablet to be a bit unwieldy for the great majority of remote functions so I bought myself a used smart phone strictly for WiFi use.

$100(ish) might seem like a lot for what is essentially a MCE remote, but it'll be a neat little toy to play around with.

How are you finding the K400? Range ok? I was looking at that for my Steam Box clone.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2013, 11:19 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,770

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
How are you finding the K400? Range ok? I was looking at that for my Steam Box clone.
I have a K400 also in the living room attached to my HTPC. No problems at 4-5 meters. I did not really tried further than that.

EDIT : I had to change the battery once in 8 months of usage.
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have people here ever used UDK? ShinraCorp Gaming 0 February 14, 2013 05:17 PM
Why do people put........ crazyea Off Topic 35 July 18, 2012 08:38 AM
People from MTL I need your help FlyingFish Off Topic 12 July 30, 2011 11:15 AM
What's with you people? Squeetard Off Topic 38 October 15, 2009 05:00 AM
Samsung Remotes - Q element291 Display Units 0 July 9, 2009 02:25 PM