Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2013, 07:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Default Operating System

My HTPC was on hold for a few months but I'm about to start putting it all together.
I was planning on buying a fresh copy of Window 7 for the system but I'm not sure what version I should be getting?
Home Premium, Professional or Ultimate?
Does it even matter?
Or how about Windows 8?
I will be running XBMC as my main hub.

Any thoughts on the subject would be greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2013, 08:06 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,278

My System Specs

Default

myself if I was going to just be using it for XBMC then I would install a free OS like Linux and then run XBMC or even xbmcbuntu-12.00.Intel-AMD but that is just me.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2013, 08:22 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,534

My System Specs

Default

I'm running Windows 8 with xbmc and it runs just fine, though I'm not 100% sure if it's Win 8, xbmc or what have you but whenever I boot mine up,it never goes to the native 1080p resolution, normally a lot lower. So I have to close and re-launch it, don't remember it ever happening in Win 7. If you can use Win 7 over Win 8 I'd still recommend doing so.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2013, 08:31 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

I personally like windows 8, the tiles would look pretty sweet on a tv as well.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2013, 08:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 14
Default

I've been using windows 7 Pro on my current PC & have no complaints.
I am not that tech savvy so Linux and Ubuntu are sort of out of the question.
Windows 8 is sort of a wild card for me still as far as compatibility issues with XBMC as posted by Arinoth.

I'm looking at Ubuntu and I like what I see..
Thanks Shadowmeph!
This looks like an option I hadn't thought of.

Last edited by Arinoth; March 3, 2013 at 09:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 06:25 AM
SpaceSquad's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 40

My System Specs

Default

I have Ubuntu + XBMC installed. Crazy fast boot-ups on some older hardware. Plays back video perfectly, nice web browsing, I am very pleased.

Specs:
Pentium D 3.4
2 GB DDR2
5450 1GB
Sata HDDs
Wifi (bad location for wires)
Ubuntu 12.10

Search dx.com for cheap handheld wireless keyboards - I bought my rechargeable one for 20 bucks and am very happy with it.

EDIT/ All I have to do configuration-wise was enable proprietary AMD graphics drivers. This is so easy to do - it's under Ubuntu Software Centre > Edit > Software Sources > Drivers. Wifi and everything worked out-of box - I just wanted 3d acceleration via radeon drivers.
__________________
-Space
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 06:06 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpaceSquad View Post
I have Ubuntu + XBMC installed. Crazy fast boot-ups on some older hardware. Plays back video perfectly, nice web browsing, I am very pleased.

Specs:
Pentium D 3.4
2 GB DDR2
5450 1GB
Sata HDDs
Wifi (bad location for wires)
Ubuntu 12.10

Search dx.com for cheap handheld wireless keyboards - I bought my rechargeable one for 20 bucks and am very happy with it.

EDIT/ All I have to do configuration-wise was enable proprietary AMD graphics drivers. This is so easy to do - it's under Ubuntu Software Centre > Edit > Software Sources > Drivers. Wifi and everything worked out-of box - I just wanted 3d acceleration via radeon drivers.
Good luck playing Blu-Ray discs :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 06:34 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,814

My System Specs

Default

If all you plan to run is XBMC and never leave it, I'd say install XBMCbuntu (Index of /releases/XBMCbuntu).

All pre-configured and ready to go, very simple to install. Just burn to a disc, boot, click next a bunch of times, and your done.

I personally found XBMC ran better that way rather than from Windows. Seemed much smoother and less glitchy/buggy.

I surely wouldn't buy Windows with the intent of running XBMC on top. That's just a waste of money.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 06:42 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
If all you plan to run is XBMC and never leave it, I'd say install XBMCbuntu (Index of /releases/XBMCbuntu).

All pre-configured and ready to go, very simple to install. Just burn to a disc, boot, click next a bunch of times, and your done.

I personally found XBMC ran better that way rather than from Windows. Seemed much smoother and less glitchy/buggy.

I surely wouldn't buy Windows with the intent of running XBMC on top. That's just a waste of money.
That is what I suggested here bmcbuntu-12.00.Intel-AMD I am not sure of how good it is I never tried it but it is for the xbmc so I imagine ethat it is good.
I never heard of problems playing bluerays in Linux why would that be a problem?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2013, 06:46 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
That is what I suggested here bmcbuntu-12.00.Intel-AMD I am not sure of how good it is I never tried it but it is for the xbmc so I imagine ethat it is good.
I never heard of problems playing bluerays in Linux why would that be a problem?
You can't play blueray MEDIA in Linux because its commercialized medium. The only way you can watch bluray in Linux is by ripping to MKV.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
urgent!! boot priority randomly changed, and system cant find operating system! FLATLANDRIDER O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 April 7, 2012 01:40 PM
Operating System OEM? I got the answer...Nvm KSiG CPU's and Motherboards 2 July 23, 2011 01:54 AM
running a dos game on an X64 bit operating system bissa Off Topic 3 October 23, 2010 11:41 PM
Quick Operating System Question Rison HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 February 4, 2010 03:40 PM
can't load an operating system help dubbaz Troubleshooting 5 February 3, 2009 05:42 PM