Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 04:23 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default Budget Build HTPC

I am building a new HTPC after trying out a WD TV Live and not liking certain elements, (lack of metadata from NAS files, no faves on network etc). I will be building this cheap and cheerful and installing XBMC and connecting over a wired network via powerline devices to my DNS-323 NAS.

Parts:

CPU AMD A4 5300 APU
MOTHERBOARD MSi FM2-A55M-E33
RAM AMD MEMORY Entertainment Edition 4GB PC3-12800 CL9 DDR3 SDRAM (1 x 4GB)
SSD Kingston 64GB (already own)
CASE/PSU INWIN IW-BK623 Micro ATX Tiny Tower, Black w/ 300W Power Supply

The total including shipping and taxes was $190.90, I hope that this little machine will work out well, parts were shipped out today.
__________________
Goto Geek for family and friends, yay!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 06:51 PM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

I am sure you will be pleased with that APU and the build looks good, I am going to build something like this soon so let me know how you like it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 08:47 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

Thanks.

I should have the parts by Friday afternoon ready for a weekend build.
__________________
Goto Geek for family and friends, yay!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2013, 02:50 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 414
Default

Interested to see how this turns out. Will you be using Netflix HD? If so let me know how it runs off that APU. Netflix at Good, and Better quality settings will work without issue I'm sure. What I am wondering is how well Netflix HD runs. I have a e350 APU with 6310 graphics and its terrible at Netflix HD due to Silverlight not supporting the 6310 for hardware acceleration. I've been eyeing the 5300 for awhile. If it can do Netflix HD I'll be placing an order for one soon myself.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2013, 12:12 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

I will provide feedback and let you know as I too have Netflix HD and will be using it. The one thing I did find out is that OpenELEC XBMC installed with an AMD APU will not bitstream HD audio, LCPM works just not bitstream, somthing to do with the ATi drivers. I belive if this is a requirement then you can install Windows XBMC and it should work, I dont think I am too bothered.
__________________
Goto Geek for family and friends, yay!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2013, 09:53 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 414
Default

Did your stuff show up? Hows it looking?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2013, 11:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,596

My System Specs

Default

On a very tight budget that should work well. One point is that AMD APU are starved for memory bandwidth, so I am sure another stick of ram (to make it dual channel) will make a difference.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2013, 02:01 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

My parts arrived on Friday and I built the machine Friday evening, installed Windows 7 and XBMC and tested it out, it works well but some files do not play back smoothly, I am sure this is not related to my machine, likely drivers or settings, needs more tweaking.

I followed the steps below after the initial issues with the playback and they are still happening.

My setup is, PC>AVR Onkyo>LCD all using HDMI.1. If you installed Realkek, you can un-install it
2. Make sure to up date the latest AMD driver from here- AMD Driver Autodetect
3. Select AMD High Definition audio output in Windows 7 control panel/hardware and sound/sound/playback
4. If you have AVR, you need to select "Audio output device WASAPI: "AVR brand/model go here" (AMD High Definition......)" in XBMC
5. Enable DXVA2 and select DXVA as Render method and disable everything else in XBMC system/video/playback
6. Enable "Use fullscreen window rather than true fullscreen" in XBMC system/system/vdeo output
__________________
Goto Geek for family and friends, yay!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2013, 02:15 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 414
Default

Are the files stored on another computer? If you're using wifi that may be where the issue is. My e350 handles everything perfect in XBMC. There's no reason your hardware shouldn't do the same.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2013, 02:25 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 264

My System Specs

Default

My files are stored on a DNS 323 NAS and the network is Powerline Ethernet adaptors, I have three of them setup. I will test wil the same files this evening stored on the SSD of the HTPC and see if there is any difference to rule out network. I will also test these same files on my main rig after I have installed XBMC on it, as they work fine using VLC.
__________________
Goto Geek for family and friends, yay!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New budget HTPC Build/ inputs appreciated rugox New Builds 0 March 11, 2012 04:15 PM
HTPC Build on a Budget (cont) BrooklynJew New Builds 4 September 13, 2011 03:24 AM
HTPC Build on a Budget BrooklynJew HTPC Systems & Software 3 September 12, 2011 01:49 PM
Budget HTPC/Gaming Build lcdguy New Builds 13 September 1, 2011 09:58 AM
Budget HTPC Build Dark-Colonel HTPC Systems & Software 4 June 29, 2011 07:50 AM