Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2012, 08:08 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

That kinda bites since the whole idea of the PC revolves around the tuner...... Good thing is that it's well before you need it for the trailer so you've got plenty of time to iron out the bugs.

Did you get the amp in as well? I'm curious to see how that works out.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 06:25 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

Nope, the amp won't be shipped for another week or so.

I'll confirm this morning the TV tuner with the USB PCI-E card I have on hand, and I'll test the Tuner in my garage heater (read BOINC station with dual GTX 670s...).
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 02:18 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

Remember that weird PSU / board incompatibiliy you had back sometime ago Steve? Well, I've found a new one: Foxconn does not like add-on cards... a 1394 card worked fine, a USB2 card did but not a USB3 card... as with the Hauppage card.
Had to buy a new Asus board - and the TV Tuner worked like magic first time powered. Go figure. Anywho, everything is dandy, Android to Windows 8 over router works great, now I need to learn and play with the tuner.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 02:41 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

Heh... every now and then something like that rears it's ugly head. Fortunately you had hardware onhand to troubleshoot/verify, that kind of thing can be extremely frustrating to folks who can't get their hands on extra kit to test with.

Glad to hear that it's working for you, now the next question is if there is a way to format your media files so that you can watch them on your remote as well.... ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2012, 02:48 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, if it wouldn't have been for all them parts I have on hand, I wasn't sure between the tuner and the board was about to take a trip to RMA-ville...

I'm actually listening to OTA radio on the tablet, from a feed coming from the TV Tuner... and the same could be done with videos if the files were located on the 'puter. I'll try later on this evening, using the trailer LCD screen too.
I'm really surprised how all this integration was rather easy to do. I was ready for more issues than that.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help building a HTPC for a 47" TV kuro89 HTPC Systems & Software 11 July 12, 2012 12:04 PM
Have case,won't travel ! STEVE-5 New Builds 9 April 14, 2012 06:49 PM
Air Canada travel help Lpfan4ever Off Topic 6 December 29, 2011 08:14 AM
Building an HTPC - Critique my build! Andy New Builds 16 September 9, 2009 07:40 AM
Question for those who travel to Montreal. Droc Off Topic 4 January 23, 2008 04:54 PM