Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2012, 05:35 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,591

My System Specs

Default

Ah, thought you wanted to use an external dvd player.

That little board does seem to have everything else you need, though seems like it uses laptop not desktop ram, unless the picture I'm looking at is off.

Amplifier looks like it should work for your needs too.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2012, 06:16 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,562

My System Specs

Default

Heh that's quite an upgrade from the 10W scythe. :) That said, you did notice that it was a 32VDC power source right?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2012, 07:11 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,910

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I'm sorry - I meant HDMI output from a GPU to the 27" LCD. The board I found (Newegg.ca - ZOTAC D2700ITXS-A-E Intel Atom D2700 (2.13 GHz, Dual Core) Intel NM10 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo) has everything I need: HDMI, Wireless N, BT and an msata port for a no-cables setup.
That should be a solid board. I have a plain D2700 ITX board and it somewhat can handle HD MKV's. It plays them, but it's a bit choppy initially. With that GT520 in there, that baby should fly!

If you're looking for a small case, this one is pretty decent: Newegg.ca - iStarUSA S-0112-DT Black Steel / Plastic Desktop Compact Stylish Mini-ITX Enclosure with 120W PSU and Desktop Stand 120W Relatively well built but it's a bit tight for space obviously (as per image below).

Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2012, 07:15 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,591

My System Specs

Default

I liked the Mini-box M350 myself,
Mini-Box M350 Universal mITX Computer Case Black 1X2.5INT Works With Pico PSU - Black
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2012, 07:42 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,648

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Heh that's quite an upgrade from the 10W scythe. :) That said, you did notice that it was a 32VDC power source right?
Yup, and it comes with a power supply. I'll get used to power it up everytime.

Thanks for the case offers, I'll probably use a MI-008 since I'll need a DVD-ROM (and I won't use the case cover). I also think this little board should be plenty powerful for my needs. I saw it requires SODIMM (already on hand), and I have a spare 60Gb SSD just for it.

You guys will have to wait until summer for a build log though... trailer is under a few feet of snow.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2012, 07:46 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,562

My System Specs

Default

Now all we need are affordable wireless touchscreen monitors for use as remotes. :)

Hell... I'd run win8 for that!!!!! ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2012, 04:44 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,910

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Now all we need are affordable wireless touchscreen monitors for use as remotes. :)

Hell... I'd run win8 for that!!!!! ;)
Hmm use a tablet perhaps? You could run a VNC/RDP client and effectively do that.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2012, 09:16 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,648

My System Specs

Default

So... I already have an Acer Iconia A200 that travels with us on those trips... and already use my cellphone as a hotdspot via wireless... hmm. I'll have to play with this.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2012, 09:43 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,562

My System Specs

Default

I'd think ideally that you'd want to be able to access a win8 htpc (I'm thinking windows because of tuner support) using an android tablet based solely on power consumption. That'd be pretty kickass though, you wouldn't need heavy processing power because you're not looking to stream to the tablet, just have a display that allows touchscreen/mouse access.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2012, 10:37 AM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Are you still looking for an amp? I'm using this with a 3.5mm output from a tablet to my 4 car speakers. It works great. The on/off of the amp is controlled by the blue wire, so hook that up to the 12v of the psu for power control.
Alpine Electronics of America, Inc.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help building a HTPC for a 47" TV kuro89 HTPC Systems & Software 11 July 12, 2012 12:04 PM
Have case,won't travel ! STEVE-5 New Builds 9 April 14, 2012 06:49 PM
Air Canada travel help Lpfan4ever Off Topic 6 December 29, 2011 08:14 AM
Building an HTPC - Critique my build! Andy New Builds 16 September 9, 2009 07:40 AM
Question for those who travel to Montreal. Droc Off Topic 4 January 23, 2008 04:54 PM