Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2012, 12:53 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 944
Default

What are you currently running for speakers and amps (if different from what you've posted) as I can't figure out how you'd need 4 amps for a more powerful 7.1 channel? There is the XPA-5 which puts out 200w into 8ohms and 300w into 4ohms :) You use the UPA-2 for the rears/sides and you are laughing. Or you can wait for them to release another 7 channel amp. I currently have the UPA-7 which they don't make anymore and love it. Although I don't run 7 channels it's kind of a waste. If I had the money I'd go with the XPA-5 in a second and then just sell the UPA-7. Or you can use the Marantz for the rear/side channels instead of a UPA-2 (if I'm not mistaken).
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old August 15, 2012, 02:14 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

That was going to be my question too, what receiver are you using to drive all those?
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2012, 03:59 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

well right now my current receiver outputs 90w @8ohms per channel. So for it to make sense the amp would need to provide more power than 90w. i have 7 speakers 6 of them can handle over 100w at 8 ohms. the upa-5 only provides 80w @ 8Ohms. The next amps up are cost prohibitive
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2012, 04:01 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

What exact model is it still as a lot of receivers don't actually output the full wattage they claim to when they are driving 5 or 7 speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2012, 04:10 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Marantz SR5003
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2012, 04:35 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

Well then your receiver does not deliver the wattage it claims to all of the speakers.

One example of this is the fact it claims that it does 90W x 7 however in the same specification sheet it says its power consumption is 600W. 90W x 7 = 630W, you cannot magically create more power then what you draw. Let's say that it does draw 630W and the specification sheet is off by 30W, it doesn't then take into consideration the wattage consumed by the unit itself while it is decoding and converting the digital or analog signals into playable formats, as well as the power delivered to the sub woofer. I'm still looking to find the test specs, which typically are what the receiver was driven at with 2 speakers and "claimed" to do for the rest (which is rather standard on A/V units)

A lot of A/Vs also have relatively high THD, Total Harmonic Distortion, around 5-10% (the one you have is 8%) whereas a real amplifier such as the UPA-500 has less then 1%.

Last edited by Arinoth; August 17, 2012 at 04:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2012, 08:24 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

ahh. As for the sub. The reciever doesn't power my sub that has it's own power source as it uses one of the pre-outs since it's a big 10" downfiring with a 400w PSu it self.

I could always hook my killawatt meter up to it and see what it draws :)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2012, 08:30 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

Might be a good idea, because either it's drawing more then what it specifies to the user, which is sorta BAD, or it's drawing approximately what it claims and it's not delivering the wattage out to your speakers.

Although to be truely accurate, does your meter measure just wattage, or does it have a VA setting too?
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2012, 11:15 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

it does both. It's one of those p3 kill a watt meters
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old August 17, 2012, 11:28 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

IF you can report back both that would be great, I just want to see if a few of my potential hypothesis will pan out or not depending on the results.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a new subwoofer for home theater Full Speed Audio 9 February 4, 2011 02:09 AM
Home theater question no_pulse Off Topic 13 May 7, 2010 06:35 PM
Help picking a Home Theater Receiver SugarJ Audio 29 January 5, 2010 09:17 AM
Questions for HTPC gurus.... Perineum HTPC Systems & Software 21 October 18, 2009 09:42 PM
Decent Home Theater System no_pulse Off Topic 7 April 23, 2009 02:46 PM