Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 20, 2012, 01:22 AM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default TV Tuner Card Question

Hi hardware canucks I'm looking to purchase a TV tuner card to install via PCI-E.

I want to be able to connect the cord going into my Bell ExpressVu satellite box into this tv tuner card in order to watch/record TV on my PC.

I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions, as I'm a huge noob when it comes to tv tuner cards and viewing/recording TV on your PC.

I was looking at this as a start, but some reviews are questionable (Newegg.ca - Hauppauge WinTV-HVR 1850 (updated version of 1800) MCE Kit 1128 PCI-Express x1 Interface)
Old March 20, 2012, 08:20 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

TV tuner seems to be fine, just so you know there is no difference if the tv tuner is on pci or pcie x1, as long as they are hardware encoding, like the one you selected. To record from the Bell receiver you will need to switch the channels from the receiver, while thie one will be connected with the rca cables to tv tuner
Old March 20, 2012, 10:53 AM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
TV tuner seems to be fine, just so you know there is no difference if the tv tuner is on pci or pcie x1, as long as they are hardware encoding, like the one you selected. To record from the Bell receiver you will need to switch the channels from the receiver, while thie one will be connected with the rca cables to tv tuner
Can I plug the TV cord that goes into my TV directly into the back of the TV tuner card?
Old March 20, 2012, 01:55 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Do you want hidef? I'm not certain this card will work. Although it has Hidef capability it is via it's own ATSC tuner, there are no DVI or HDMI or component inputs so unless your receiver puts out a COAX ATSC hidef signal it will not do hidef but only low def via COAX, RCA or SVHS.