Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2012, 04:29 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,574

My System Specs

Default Two Home Theatre (and PC) Issues

Well it looks like I have two separate issues going on with my entire home theatre set.

The first one is a minor one, right now I'm putting my htpc to sleep after about 15-20 mins of idling. The thing is it seems to want to always require me to push the power button to turn wake it back up. The case I have does not have the power button wired up, as well I'm used to just sleeping the hard drive so I would just move the mouse or tap the keyboard a couple of times to wake it.

How do I fix it for this, or is sleep/hibernate still utterly broken in Win 7? I am planning on looking through the manual for my board's bios to see if there is anything mentioned about wake on usb.

The second problem is a bit bigger. It seems that my receiver (Onkyo TX-SR508), which is about 1.5 years old (maybe closer to around a year and a few months) doesn't seem to want to play back the voice tracks of any audio that is set to DTS or Dolby, even though it supports it (and would play it in the past). I have tried this on three separate machines in several different programs (xbmc, vlc, winamp) with the same results.

The only thing I have not had the chance to do is test it with my 360 to see if it's the computers' set up or the receiver itself. I would also like to note that this issue occurs with the audio signal over hdmi as well as spdif.

Any help/advice would be great on both issues. I just hope the receiver isn't a dud as I don't know how long onyx's warranties are.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2012, 06:56 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Until you try your 360 or a dvd/bluray player I won't help you :P
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2012, 07:40 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,574

My System Specs

Default

I think I figured out problem 1, it seems they disable waking up from sleep states in the bios.



I figure if I enable Resume from S3 by USB Device wiggling the mouse or hitting a few keys on the keyboard should awake my htpc from its slumber? I'm surprised this was disabled by default as I've never had another motherboard configured from the factory that way.

I'll test it with the 360 once I get home from work, but I have a big suspicion that something on the receiver blew.. knowing my luck with receivers.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2012, 01:10 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,574

My System Specs

Default

Well i think it's the receiver. Just ran a Dolby and DTS movie through my 360 (off a DvD that has them) and it will not playback voice audio tracks, music and background works fine though.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2012, 01:20 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Well i think it's the receiver. Just ran a Dolby and DTS movie through my 360 (off a DvD that has them) and it will not playback voice audio tracks, music and background works fine though.
There ya go! So now I would say try doing this.

Unplug receiver. Hit power button to discharge unit. Wait say 15 minutes then turn it back on. Other than that see if there is a way to do a full reset of the unit.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2012, 04:59 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,574

My System Specs

Default

I'll try that later when I'm not using it. Is it possible it has gotten itself stuck in between modes? I can't see components failing already in just that mode.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2012, 07:23 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868

My System Specs

Default

I had a similar problem with my Yamaha, but it was intermittent. Restored it to factory defaults and re-configured it, and now it's working like a champ again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2012, 07:29 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,574

My System Specs

Default

I just restored it to factory defaults and it's doing the same thing. It'll only play audio back if its PCM (any only the 2.1 channel version of it, not the 5.1 like I have set up and recognized and reconfigured), aka no dts or Dolby like it used to. Guess something broke on it, oh joy...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2012, 11:36 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,574

My System Specs

Default

Well looks like if I want to RMA it I have to send it to Montreal, I'm guessing that's about 50$ to ship as receivers aren't the lightest things in the world.

I could try listing my receiver set to play all channels simulated 5.1 (aka stereo through all the speakers) and pick up a new one, or RMA and sit without sound for my pc/htpc for who knows how long...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2012, 11:43 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Well looks like if I want to RMA it I have to send it to Montreal, I'm guessing that's about 50$ to ship as receivers aren't the lightest things in the world.

I could try listing my receiver set to play all channels simulated 5.1 (aka stereo through all the speakers) and pick up a new one, or RMA and sit without sound for my pc/htpc for who knows how long...
Don't be cheap. RMA the thing its not even a year old
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WIP Home Theatre Build enaberif Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 2 May 3, 2011 03:49 PM
Home Theatre Speakers into PC? Zmanno999 Audio 12 February 28, 2011 08:41 AM
Home Theatre In A Box Recommendation geokilla Off Topic 11 January 5, 2010 09:31 AM
home theatre pc CraigHf Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 9 April 30, 2009 10:35 AM
Very Cool Home Theatre Pic's Robscix HTPC Systems & Software 5 January 31, 2008 04:18 AM