Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 03:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default 100mbit

Can't afford the gigi switch I want right now but I'm wondering if 100mbit will run bluray/highdef content? I have a boxeebox upstairs for the video and the file server down in the basement. Currently I have a gigi upstairs but since relocating everything to the basement including ME and my main rig I wanna bring the gigi downstairs for file transfers etc.

So the 100mbit does around 11 megs a second.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 04:05 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
According to the Blu-ray Disc specification, 1x speed is defined as 36Mbps. However, as BD-ROM movies will require a 54Mbps data transfer rate the minimum speed we're expecting to see is 2x (72Mbps).
source: Blu-ray.com - Blu-ray FAQ

So you should be fine
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 04:12 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,536

My System Specs

Default

Yes 10/100 will be fine for bluray, it might stutter a bit if there's something else using bandwidth though.
__________________

Last edited by supaflyx3; December 19, 2011 at 05:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2011, 05:21 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

Ok thanks fellas. The boxie is pretty much the only thing running up there but it's nice to have the extra connections in a pinch.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2011, 03:09 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sudbury
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clshades View Post
Ok thanks fellas. The boxie is pretty much the only thing running up there but it's nice to have the extra connections in a pinch.
If its a boxeebox, it doesn't have gigabit anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2011, 11:11 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,382

My System Specs

Default

cheers
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes