Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 05:52 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default Remote for desktop ?

Hi,

My gf wants to have a remote in order to be able to watch videos from further (play, pause, next, shut the computer, etc.) She'd also like to have a way to shut her monitor.

Her box(V351) does not have any IR receiver and her monitor(VW266H) did not come with a remote

I think this would work NCIX.com - Buy Mediagate Windows 7 / Vista MCE One Channel IR Remote Control for Home Premium & Ultimate Black - Mediasonic - MG-IR01BK - in Canada but I am unsure if it would really work, if it is the best option and even what the different is between that one and the dual channel version of it.

Any further ideas or information ?

I know another option would be to get a wireless mouse and to do things from a little further, but I dunno.

She might also be interested in watching tv on her desktop, but that is not decided yet.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 08:34 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,602

My System Specs

Default

The monitor part is going to be rather difficult, though you can set in windows settings after a certain while to have your computer tell your monitor there is no single, therefore sending it into standby (almost off mode). If she's going to watch a lot of TV/Movies (doesn't work quite as well with the prior mentioned unless you do some extra tweaks) is to install XBMC on it, then she could use her phone (provided its a smart phone) to act like a remote as they have an app for it (free for android, i think a buck or two for iphone, not sure about Windows mobile).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 08:40 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

Ya, I figured as much for the monitor, but already managing the computer is a good start. The phone idea is a good one, but it wouldn't work in this case.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 08:45 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,602

My System Specs

Default

Its what I do for my own monitors as using triple monitors and the monitors I have the buttons are sometimes are to get at, so I have my screen saver set to go black screens at 10 mins, then 'turn the monitors off' at 15 mins of being idle.

Does she just want to essentially use windows from a distance then?

Using VLC to play videos?
VLC remote and android (example if its just for a media player)
https://market.android.com/details?i...=search_result
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 08:55 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

That's potentially good for me, but she's a big fan on Winamp...

Yes she pretty much wants to use her computer from distance and her use would mostly be to watch videos... Would the remote I linked in the 1st post do what I want ?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 09:02 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,602

My System Specs

Default

It should work, and at least for android they have an app for winamp as well. I'm just looking for the cheaper solution for ya (as most people have smart phones and its one less remote/accessory to worry about)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 09:10 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

Sorry for my lack of knowledge, but since I'm still using my stone age cell phone, how does the smart phone communicate with the computer ? wifi ? bluetooth ?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 09:15 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,602

My System Specs

Default

For my own network I have it set up to connect to/control my XBMC HTPC over wireless, however you could easily do it over bluetooth as well
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 09:17 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

Will have to look into that, as it looks quite cool I must say... Maybe its time to get a modern age cell phone.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2011, 09:59 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 299

My System Specs

Default

get a gyration remote if you can find one. it will be able to do all that you need it with the exception of turn off the monitor unless that monitor has a tv remote frequency(turn my tv off with it all the time).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote desktop folding BrainEater HardwareCanucks F@H Team 16 March 26, 2011 04:26 PM
Lazy Remote Desktop Q & A The Quicken Networking 4 March 4, 2011 10:54 PM
Can't remote desktop to my Atom anymore. Dr_BenD_over Networking 2 October 17, 2009 03:12 PM
Windows 7 Remote Desktop muse108dc Networking 2 May 14, 2009 08:23 PM
remote desktop CTA Networking 13 November 20, 2008 02:40 PM