Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2011, 06:57 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default Problem with DVDshrink re-author

Not sure if this is the best place for this but I figure someone here must be doing this.

I'm using DVDshrink to reauthor my DVD rips into individual episodes for importing to mediaportal TVseries. When I re-author and 'back-up' the disk, I get no video when I play it back (using TMT). The audio works fine though. I set it to no video compression FWIW.

Thanks for any help.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2011, 07:21 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 747

My System Specs

Default

DVD shrink is WAY too old now a days, try something more modern like anyDVD.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2011, 07:49 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

I have anyDVD but I don't see anything in it that would suggest it does DVD reauthoring.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2011, 06:23 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 747

My System Specs

Default

My bad, I mean CloneDVD (same guys that make AnyDVD). You can re-author (removed subs, languages, shrink, etc).
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2011, 09:19 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston BC
Posts: 415
Default

I use DVDFab, I think there is a 30 day trial of it from their website. You can split Episodes into seperate files... I think thats what you are looking for? And it converts into most popular formats mkv, mp4, avi etc... Also choose your bitrate or fixed file size, remove subs, burn subs in, change format ratio (not sure what the technical term is there but say 480, 720, 1080) and sample twice (takes twice as long to process for a bit better quality)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2011, 11:44 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Thanks I'll look into that, but I'd really like to end up with a DVD .iso at the end of it. I use TMT as an external player, so I can play my BD stuff too. Funny that DVD's are such a bitch to deal with compared to BD's when trying to do this given the amount of time DVD's have been around. The nice thing about the DVDshrink processing is it takes about 10 to 15 seconds to do which is a real bonus since I got a box load of TV series on DVD's that I'd like to put on my HTPC's. FWIW I can see the video as DVDshrink is doing the processing and the final file size matches what I started with so I have to assume all the data is there, It just doesn't play right. There's not a lot of options to go through in that software, but maybe there is something I'm missing?
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
could this be a game problem or a video driver problem? Shadowmeph Troubleshooting 4 December 17, 2010 07:01 AM
Do you see problem here? Dazmode Water Cooling 19 November 20, 2010 05:43 AM
Hardware problem or HAL problem? andynerd Troubleshooting 1 March 7, 2009 09:03 PM
Little problem... AnthraxAdrian RAM 7 June 24, 2008 03:41 PM
problem... omgwtf Troubleshooting 35 May 15, 2007 09:06 PM