Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 04:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Westminster BC
Posts: 61
Default Looking for a capture card, not sure what options I have...

Hey guys,

I've been looking around at capture cards for my computer, but I'm uncertain of where to start since there are so many features that I don't understand.

So I need one that:

1. Records in MP4(Important) or FLV
2. Scheduled Recording, but even more than scheduled recording... is there any capture card out there that has smart recording? ie. It will start recording right when the show actually starts.
3. Budget, I would say sub-$200 I guess. Trying to see a variety of options available.

Not sure what else to add. PCI or USB is alright.

If anyone has an idea of where I should look, let me know!

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2011, 08:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 27
Default

What are your source connections or I mean what are you trying to capture from?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 11:51 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Westminster BC
Posts: 61
Default

I believe it's from some kind of Set top box, using either RCA or Coaxial.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 12:21 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,607
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GameOnTurtle View Post
I believe it's from some kind of Set top box, using either RCA or Coaxial.
Most companies providing TV do not allow capture with a card.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2011, 06:20 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,384

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Most companies providing TV do not allow capture with a card.
Does that mean it's impossible or illegal?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 08:28 AM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

Not a lot you can do to block a screen from being captured.. Illegal is the premise I think he means.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 08:41 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,563

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJThomp View Post
Does that mean it's impossible or illegal?
Most TV these days is delivered via a set top box in a digital format. Capture cards (unless they're sold/rented by the provider) do not have the ability to decode the signal, and thus would be limited to whatever output the box is set to (channel would have to be set on the box, and would have to be left on for recording). In my case.... analog cable of the lower channels still comes through the lines so I'd be able to record those, but AFAIK 2011 is the end date for analog signals.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 04:01 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Westminster BC
Posts: 61
Default

Well, I'm pretty sure we won't be using it for anything illegal. (afaik)

I'm not using it, my friend wants to use it, but he's looking for something that (the main reason for the thread), that records in .MP4 or .FLV.

I currently have the Hauppauge HD-PVR, and I believe it records in .MP4, but I was wondering what other options there were for this format. (Afterwards he would look at what connections, I just figured stating RCA and Coaxial were the most common sorts)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 04:04 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,607
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GameOnTurtle View Post
Well, I'm pretty sure we won't be using it for anything illegal. (afaik)

I'm not using it, my friend wants to use it, but he's looking for something that (the main reason for the thread), that records in .MP4 or .FLV.

I currently have the Hauppauge HD-PVR, and I believe it records in .MP4, but I was wondering what other options there were for this format. (Afterwards he would look at what connections, I just figured stating RCA and Coaxial were the most common sorts)
Its impossible to do as stated above unless you get ANALOG signals.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 04:15 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Most TV these days is delivered via a set top box in a digital format. Capture cards (unless they're sold/rented by the provider) do not have the ability to decode the signal, and thus would be limited to whatever output the box is set to (channel would have to be set on the box, and would have to be left on for recording). In my case.... analog cable of the lower channels still comes through the lines so I'd be able to record those, but AFAIK 2011 is the end date for analog signals.
I have digital HDTV with a settop PVR, I run a coaxial splitter before the set top box , one line goes to the set top, one line goes to my analog tuner in my HTPC, I can record via the tunercard as you stated the lower (basic cable package) channels or record via the HDPVR the "higher" HD/SD channels via the set top. I also have one coaxial line direct to my TV's coaxial input (HDPVR is hooked up via HDMI) and the final split coaxial line to my stereo receiver ( for FM ).

We had this discussion a few times before and I never could get a set in stone answer but IIRC 2011 is the end of over the air analog signals, so in other words my analog TV tuner should continue to work, but again until this actually happens I am unsure since I have been given conflicting advice. Some ppl say yes it is just the over the air signals other say no it is all analog signals and my TV tuner (in my HTPC) wont work.

Edit: BTW I am on Shaw just FYI.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Choose and Install a Capture Card for Beginners Mr. Gruntsworthy Guides & How-to's 0 February 12, 2011 10:27 PM
Work in Progress -- How to Choose and Install a Capture Card Mr. Gruntsworthy Guides & How-to's 7 February 4, 2011 08:30 AM
Video capture card recommendations? chrisk HTPC Systems & Software 0 June 2, 2010 11:14 AM
Capture Card | TV Tuner Mr. Gruntsworthy HTPC Systems & Software 4 March 16, 2009 05:04 AM
TV tuner/Capture card the_bandit87 Video Cards 2 November 14, 2007 11:16 AM