Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2011, 06:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 31
Default

BTW, you shouldn't need to install any codecs at all if you're using MPC-HC, codec packs are a thing of the past. I have yet to run into anything that won't play on Win 7 x64 with MPC-HC.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2011, 09:30 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,408

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Writer View Post
BTW, you shouldn't need to install any codecs at all if you're using MPC-HC, codec packs are a thing of the past. I have yet to run into anything that won't play on Win 7 x64 with MPC-HC.
hmm I am not to sure about the codecs are a thing of the past I had to get codecs so I could watch .flc files the only player that I have every used that didn't have any problems was VLC
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2011, 09:37 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 473
Default

Bad cable? What's the story on the cable you are using?
__________________
They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2011, 09:56 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

you guys are making good use of cuda or ati's hd playback implementations right?

my nv cards,besides folding of course, help with hd playback.


try playing a 20 gig mkv file on a lower end desktop and look at the cpu running scared


mpc-h or whatvers called that comes with the comie codecs is a must
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2011, 01:43 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

Writer's solution with the "changing the network throttling" was exactly the issue.

I've been playing with different packs and players, everything for the last 3 months trying to figure out what to do. That was the ONLY issue... UGH!

Thank you SOO much Writer!

I'm going to stick with just using MPC-HC as my default player, as even my 54Gb BR rip of Avatar plays flawlessly with just that installed now.

Thanks again for everything but that solved it, network throttling.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2011, 02:02 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,074

My System Specs

Default

If you are playing uncompressed BD copies you should be using ffdshow for your audio. MPC-HC can not decode lossless HD audio tracks as far as I know.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2011, 12:11 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default realtek utility, green ethernet, network issues

set up a new machine and had some issues with torrents. dl'ed the realtek diagnostic utility and proceeded to turn off most
things, which solved it. depending on the nic you have in use, you may want to get its utility and play with the settings.
play as in turn off one at a time and see if it fixes your problem.
something that is appearing more and more is a feature called 'green ethernet' . basically what this does it cuts off unused
ports in routers and switches, and also plays around with the voltage provided to the in use ports, which can be a real pain
in the butt. if youre having issues? that would be the first thing to disable. some utilities let you chose between different
stages,others not. just disable it.





Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2011, 12:59 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Writer View Post
The problem you're running into is network throttling. Vista and Win7 have a feature that automatically throttles inbound network throughput whenever there is multimedia playback. This is done so the network overhead won't interfere with your media playback, but that would only be the case on a very, VERY slow system.

On a modern gaming or HTPC this feature makes no sense.

At least it's easy to modify or disable: just change the value of this registry key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Multimedia\SystemProfile\Network ThrottlingIndex

By default it's 10, which means reduce inbound bandwidth to 10% during multimedia playback.

Some guides recommend setting it to 40. I set it to >= 100 on all my PCs.

Setting it to any value of 100 or larger will disable the throttling. (Microsoft says to use 0xffffffff or -1 to disable it, but it's internally treated as an unsigned value so that's just another way of setting it to a value that is larger than 100.)

See How to use the throttling mechanism to control network performance in Windows Vista for more on this "feature."

Note that this only affects inbound bandwidth; you only need to change the setting on the local system where you're viewing the file, not the remote one that is hosting the file.
I would like to thank you for this fix. It has been bugging me but as soon as I applied it, it was working perfectly. Thank you again!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 02:27 PM
Mir Mir is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mrs Sauga
Posts: 30
Arrow

Do you what is your sustained Xfer rate ?
You can use iperf utility, which will give your network bandwidth
It is all about process of elimination
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2011, 10:47 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,458

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inate8 View Post
Hey guys, I just recently upgraded my main machine, and delegated my old comp to my living room computer. It's an E8400 on a P5N32E-SLI, with 8Gb ram(over-kill, I didn't have anything but 4gb sticks of DDR2 left), and an 8800GT 512mb.

Using this machine to run local content has been fine in the past and is again fine now, but when I stream over our giga network(dlink giga switch) any file that is 3Gb+ tends to lag out sooner or later. Usually anything over 4Gb just chops constantly.

I use CCCP(Combined Community Codec Pack - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia) for my basic codec install, and then I install coreAVC for it's ability to use GPU acceleration. I set the preferred codec in MPC's options and it shows that it's using core whenever I view files in MPC.

Disable GPU acelerations they create all kinds of lag rather than help. It's completely unecessary to use GPU acceleration for doing video play back and can cause unwanted issues. Besides it doesn't DO anything really... nothing that software doesn't already do as intended. I know this from experience. Just use default settings for codec installs and let the software do the rest. Obviously WMC needs SOME tweaking here and there for various formats. (albeit I haven't tried playing MKV or bluray on WMC in ages.)

Test with VLC and no codecs as it can play anything without installing anything.

If you wanna try something other than WMC (I cant stand it anymore) Download Boxee It's free.
It does everything...
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
all .mkv files on my PC and WD TV media play very low volume Shadowmeph Off Topic 19 August 22, 2010 09:36 PM
Digital sound with .mkv files via SPDIF Hunt Audio 6 February 26, 2010 07:15 AM
Some blurays are choppy... biff HTPC Systems & Software 8 September 5, 2009 09:03 PM
Will the following setup play 1080p Mkv CY:G HTPC Systems & Software 8 March 6, 2009 08:12 PM