Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 09:35 PM
E86 E86 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default Picking out a decent tv tuner card

I'm building a new system for a friend. He asked me to throw in a tv tuner card but I haven't had experience with tv tuner cards since my ati 7500 all in wonder haha. Just wondering if someone can recommend something that will receive hd signals and under $130.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 09:39 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

Good luck.

All signals whether satellite or cable are broadcast in digital now and tuner cards have not been useful for sometime.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 10:31 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,917

My System Specs

Default

Yup, you are pretty much out of luck. In Canada you are pretty much stuck w/ capture cards if you want to record HDTV. The only decent one being an Hauppauge HD PVR, and it costs $180-$200. Plus another $80+ for software.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 11:19 PM
E86 E86 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 37

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the info guys, appreciate it. I guess hes just better off buying a PVR then...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 11:33 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Good luck.

All signals whether satellite or cable are broadcast in digital now and tuner cards have not been useful for sometime.
My analog is still working for now but I believe come feb '11 the switch to all didgital comes into effect, effectively rendering tv tuners obsolete.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2011, 03:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
My analog is still working for now but I believe come feb '11 the switch to all didgital comes into effect, effectively rendering tv tuners obsolete.
I think that's not entirely true. See : Canadian local over-the-air television stations moving to digital: August 31, 2011 | CRTC

They are shutting down over-the-air analog tv. It says that if you get your signal by cable, the change won't affect you.

E86 wants a card to receive HD signals so that's not analog anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2011, 04:27 PM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

I have 3 TV tuner cards in my house and they all work great. I record analog TV all the time and my cable guy (who I just talked to the other day) sad nothing about there not being analog cable in the near future.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2011, 04:31 PM
Blu's Avatar
Blu Blu is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

Well this sucks...I just bought a AverMedia Averttv Combo G2 PCI-E Dual HDTV Tuner PVR S-Video Composite for my HTPC and was assured by NCIX the move to digital cable doesn't affect them what so ever :(
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2011, 02:55 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,917

My System Specs

Default

If you use a STB chances are the tuner card will not work. I am pretty sure almost all Canadian cable companies use some sort of encryption for their digital tv.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2011, 10:45 AM
Blu's Avatar
Blu Blu is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
If you use a STB chances are the tuner card will not work. I am pretty sure almost all Canadian cable companies use some sort of encryption for their digital tv.
Well that sucks :( Should tell ncix about it so they don't continue lying to there customers...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help picking the right sound card for my needs! Mavvens Audio 8 February 11, 2010 01:19 PM
Picking the right Card Heff04 New Builds 6 December 28, 2008 11:11 PM
Need help picking a decent TV tuner lanken123 Video Cards 0 October 4, 2008 04:45 PM
Need help with picking a sound card ragenrok Audio 7 August 6, 2008 04:01 PM
Need advice picking a video card tgraszat14 Video Cards 16 February 1, 2008 09:00 PM