Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2010, 06:38 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default XBMC 10 Released!

As of Dec 18th the full release of XBMC 10 Dharma is available for download =)

I just did a quick install from ubuntu using svn/ppa and so far so good, aside from having to re-config autosuspend again it seems to working fine on my Zotac Mag box. I havent had a chance to really mess around with it or even play a movie as the TV is currently unavailable... .

The big news is that Dharma now allows for Add-ons within XBMC, no more messing around with FTP to get Add-ons. This applies to skins, within the skins menu you have the choice of downloading and enabling the skin of your choice with your remote.

See the full info and downloads here XBMC

Updates to come as I start to play with this new release. Still need to get snes emulator working as well.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2010, 07:13 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,100

My System Specs

Default

I've been using the betas for a few months and still am using Beta 3 ATM. It is quite nice being able to keep all your addons up to date nice and easily.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2010, 07:30 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,603

My System Specs

Default

I have been running the Beta 2 and Beta 3 for a while and have rather enjoyed it. I'll have to give this polished product a go sometime in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 10:48 AM
Blu's Avatar
Blu Blu is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

Can't wait to get my htpc up and built :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 01:05 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

its to bad that my Remote for my TV card doesn't work with the xbmc becasue I really like the way it looks
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 02:30 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Have you tried a cheepy $20 remote from NCIX? should still be able to control your tv card and xmbc id think, with some tweaking.

Played around with the release a bit more last night and I must say it feels far more finished then 9.11 did. not many add-ons to grab yet, but I like being able to easily change skins and the menus feel alot snappier on my MAG. I didnt jump into the beta releases as I had a working system already and I have heard of quite a few issues with nettops and dharma betas going bad.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 02:55 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

first time xmbc user so far so great love the gui and very easy to setup for the clients who only want a htpc for music/movies/tv ( like most do ) thanks all great frontend
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 09:18 AM
Bojamijams's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 263
Default

I already feel like an idiot having to ask about this, so no need to point it out but...

How the hell do you get back to what is currently playing? Like.. if I'm playing a movie and I go back into the menu to ... do things.. I can't figure out a way to return to the movie (that is still playing in the background) and have it just resume where it is. If I right click on the library, I get a Now Playing option, which then shows the movie and if I select it, it starts from the beggining again

Second question, when I play a music file, it goes back to the main menu and shows the music playing in the bottom right corner. After some time, it'll load Milkdrop and do the visualizations but I can't figure out how to make it go there whenever I want. Likewise, same with the now playing up top (they're probably related), I can't figure out how to go back to the list view of the folder that the currently playing song belongs to.

XBMC wiki offered no help :( so.. please.. help?
__________________
Computer: i7 2600k @ 4.7Ghz | Asus P8P67 Evo | Corsair LP 16gb 1600CL9 | Silver Arrow | Essence STX | Crucial m4 128gb | Silverstone Raven 3|

Video: 2x R9 290 @ 1050 / 1375 | ASUS VG248QE |

Audio: STX => Audioengine A5 / audio technica AD700X
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 09:49 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,100

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bojamijams View Post
I already feel like an idiot having to ask about this, so no need to point it out but...

How the hell do you get back to what is currently playing? Like.. if I'm playing a movie and I go back into the menu to ... do things.. I can't figure out a way to return to the movie (that is still playing in the background) and have it just resume where it is. If I right click on the library, I get a Now Playing option, which then shows the movie and if I select it, it starts from the beggining again

Second question, when I play a music file, it goes back to the main menu and shows the music playing in the bottom right corner. After some time, it'll load Milkdrop and do the visualizations but I can't figure out how to make it go there whenever I want. Likewise, same with the now playing up top (they're probably related), I can't figure out how to go back to the list view of the folder that the currently playing song belongs to.

XBMC wiki offered no help :( so.. please.. help?
Tab key
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 09:52 AM
Bojamijams's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brantford, On
Posts: 263
Default

GFD.. are you serious? that was it? ugh... +100 for you!
__________________
Computer: i7 2600k @ 4.7Ghz | Asus P8P67 Evo | Corsair LP 16gb 1600CL9 | Silver Arrow | Essence STX | Crucial m4 128gb | Silverstone Raven 3|

Video: 2x R9 290 @ 1050 / 1375 | ASUS VG248QE |

Audio: STX => Audioengine A5 / audio technica AD700X
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does XBMC need windows 7? Blu O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 December 14, 2010 01:41 PM
xbmc help scruff HTPC Systems & Software 3 December 12, 2010 01:51 PM
XBMC/Network help p3t3rson HTPC Systems & Software 5 August 8, 2010 07:14 PM
XBMC wifi p3t3rson O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 March 9, 2010 11:37 AM
XBMC in all its beauty. lowfat HTPC Systems & Software 27 September 18, 2009 06:22 PM