Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 12:06 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default

I had a little ACER nettop but it was not powerful enough for 1080p, now I have a Boxee box and it seems to work pretty well, although I am still tempted to build myself a nice little HTPC.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 12:10 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Does the new XBMC do any better for BD player integration?
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 02:19 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,972

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
Does the new XBMC do any better for BD player integration?
Nope. You still need to have it to launch an external player.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 02:54 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Sure but is it more seamless at using an external player... Before it was clunky and a PITA to get it working. This was the only method to get it to go that I could find, and I spent about a year looking for a better option. I've recently switched to MediaPortal because it took me ~20 minutes to get it working flawlessly. TBH I don't see any reason to change from MP but if XBMC can do it now then at least I'll have options.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 03:16 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,972

My System Specs

Default

Chances are it will be exactly the same. I use an external player myself for anything that has a trueHD or DTS-HD Master soundtrack but for someone like a bluray I have no idea how that works.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does XBMC need windows 7? Blu O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 December 14, 2010 12:41 PM
xbmc help scruff HTPC Systems & Software 3 December 12, 2010 12:51 PM
XBMC/Network help p3t3rson HTPC Systems & Software 5 August 8, 2010 06:14 PM
XBMC wifi p3t3rson O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 March 9, 2010 10:37 AM
XBMC in all its beauty. lowfat HTPC Systems & Software 27 September 18, 2009 05:22 PM