Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2011, 01:06 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver (Port Moody)
Posts: 281

My System Specs

Default

I had a little ACER nettop but it was not powerful enough for 1080p, now I have a Boxee box and it seems to work pretty well, although I am still tempted to build myself a nice little HTPC.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 01:10 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Does the new XBMC do any better for BD player integration?
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 03:19 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,074

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
Does the new XBMC do any better for BD player integration?
Nope. You still need to have it to launch an external player.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 03:54 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Sure but is it more seamless at using an external player... Before it was clunky and a PITA to get it working. This was the only method to get it to go that I could find, and I spent about a year looking for a better option. I've recently switched to MediaPortal because it took me ~20 minutes to get it working flawlessly. TBH I don't see any reason to change from MP but if XBMC can do it now then at least I'll have options.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2011, 04:16 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,074

My System Specs

Default

Chances are it will be exactly the same. I use an external player myself for anything that has a trueHD or DTS-HD Master soundtrack but for someone like a bluray I have no idea how that works.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does XBMC need windows 7? Blu O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 December 14, 2010 01:41 PM
xbmc help scruff HTPC Systems & Software 3 December 12, 2010 01:51 PM
XBMC/Network help p3t3rson HTPC Systems & Software 5 August 8, 2010 07:14 PM
XBMC wifi p3t3rson O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 March 9, 2010 11:37 AM
XBMC in all its beauty. lowfat HTPC Systems & Software 27 September 18, 2009 06:22 PM