Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2010, 08:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default Will this setup work?

Greetings all. I've googled a fair bit and can't find the answers I'm looking for. As xmas approaches, I'll be buying an lcd tv. It will be either the Samsung 46" C610 or the C630. I'll also be purchasing the Asus WiCast providing it will do what I want it to. My plan is to connect my pc to tv using the WiCast through an hdmi on my tv. My PC will be about 18'-20' away from my tv and it can't be relocated. Now here's where I'm not sure things will go my way. My 5.1 receiver has no HDMI inputs or outputs but it does have an optical in and a coax in.

I was wondering if WiCast will send all of my pc audio (games, music, etc.) to my tv and then send the audio from the tv optical out to my receiver's optical in.

Also, if I connect my Roger's HD box to my tv via hdmi, will it send that audio to my receiver through the tv's optical out? If this is the case, will my receiver be able to distinguish the two audio signals from the two hdmi sources (pc and roger's box)? I'm thinking if I have only one audio source (roger's box or pc) powered up at a time, I shouldn't have any problems.
What do you all think? Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 04:42 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

I guess nobody has had the chance to test this out yet.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attempt #10 to get work failed, and no other work to do. LaughingCrow HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 May 5, 2010 09:29 AM
F@H does not work? Sushi Warrior HardwareCanucks F@H Team 37 October 29, 2009 04:52 PM
[WTT] My LGA775 DDR3 setup for your AM2+/AM3 setup Realityshift Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 12, 2009 06:17 PM
Does this work? Infiniti Water Cooling 3 January 15, 2009 07:10 PM
will this work Jhayman O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 July 3, 2008 01:59 AM