Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 10:45 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default HTPC Streaming Movies over Network

Here is my dilemma,

I would really prefer to be streaming my ripped dvd's (i own them all) over my network to my home theatre PC, my problem is that the connection between the NAS and my HTPC would dip down to 4000KBps which is too low for uncompressed dvd content. Is there a way to force a network connection to run a specified speed. In the mean time my solution was to install an ungodly amount of HD's into my HTPC.

Thanks,

Lcdguy
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 10:53 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Hook up your NAS to your HTPC and get a second NAS for your network? LOL
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 10:59 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Actually that will work with a lot of NAS units, hook the NAS up to the HTPC with the USB/firewire cable, but leave it hooked up to the network for the other PC's to use...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 11:04 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
Here is my dilemma,

I would really prefer to be streaming my ripped dvd's (i own them all) over my network to my home theatre PC, my problem is that the connection between the NAS and my HTPC would dip down to 4000KBps which is too low for uncompressed dvd content. Is there a way to force a network connection to run a specified speed. In the mean time my solution was to install an ungodly amount of HD's into my HTPC.

Thanks,

Lcdguy
Your gonna need to use a gigabit network and if you are using wireless that won't work at all.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 11:17 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Why is your network dropping down like that? Solve that and solve your problem. I can stream HD content using my 56mbs wireless no problem.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 02:42 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

1. Can't use the USB like that on my NAS unit it's only used for attaching extra storage.
2. Gigabit would be nice except i can't afford a 24 port managed gigabit switch
3. In regards to the network dipping i am not sure. Since my hardware is fairly high quailty.

All Devices Connect to a Netgear FMS726 Managed 10/100 Switch with 2x 10/100/1000 Uplink. FYI my nas is an Intel SS4000-E.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2007, 08:36 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Could be something as simple as a setting somewhere, like QOS, or a firmware flash is needed. No need to throw money at this problem just yet man. Post at the AVS forum or Doom9 forum, there are a billion guru's there who can help you.

An uncompressed full 1080p DTS stream maxes out at 25mbs. DVD is like 6mbs I think. You should have bandwidth to spare.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2007, 05:15 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

so i managed to remove QOS on my xp boxes and low and behold my network is alot faster now. Except for that stupid nas of mine. Still slow as anything even when using the gigabit ports on my switch. but transfers between pc's is lightning fast. aver trans fer speeds rang from 25-40K KBps. except for the nas which peaks around 6500 :(
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2007, 11:12 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Well there we go. Your NAS is dogging it. As per the specs, you should be peaking at 150mbs on the usb 2.0 and totally saturating the 100mbs ethernet.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2007, 08:35 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

well as far as the 10/100 is concerned even at the 40MBps speed it's still only hitting around 35% network utilization. Ah well. I guess i need to look at a gigabit switch. I have been looking at a SMC 16 port Gigabit that is unmanaged :)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Wireless Network Setup Supergrover Guides & How-to's 13 December 24, 2013 02:00 AM
Post your Network lcdguy Networking 61 February 21, 2008 10:05 PM
Streaming Movies and Music Strat6 Networking 5 January 4, 2008 04:09 PM
Network n00b help Matty D Networking 10 December 28, 2007 03:15 PM
Friend(ly) Network Mysteryous Networking 16 September 13, 2007 07:36 AM