Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 08:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 26

My System Specs

Default HTPC with SLi

Has anyone here made or attempted to make an HTPC with SLi so that it could be used as a gaming rig as well?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 08:56 PM
PLg PLg is offline
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 180
Default

Yes, you could also go with quad sli for uber blu-ray playback, but by HTPC do you mean a htpc case?, Because really you could use any computer case as a htpc
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 09:00 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if youre thinking h55 based board, probably quite hard/expensive to find one.

but it can be done, although small case limits gpu/cpu cooler sizes appropriately.

and yes i built a small box with a pair of nv cards a while ago. just for fun. lower end cards + downdraft cooler = fun but not a match for a big tower with all the cooling and all.

also dont forget about the powersupply. good thing tha twe got ssds, this way you can deal with crammed place better
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 10:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 26

My System Specs

Default

I was thinking of a silverstone case, grandia 04b or something to that affect. Perhaps a P55 V SLi board. I believe its only 8x/8x when used in SLi, but with maybe two gtx460's it could be cool enough...not sure about the powersupply for it. Just not sure if this would work as I would hate to purchase the components and then fail to put it together (especially if I could pick up some cheap used gtx 2xx cards).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 11:07 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,048

My System Specs

Default

kinda pointless at 1080 resolutions, no? One 480 should completely destroy everything at that resolution......
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 11:31 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

actually two 460 1gb at stock in sli do manhandle a 480, at 1920x1980. 2560xwhatever it may be another story...lets see...

http://tpucdn.com/reviews/NVIDIA/GeF...es/perfrel.gif

nope, manhandles it everywhere, probably the ram size plays an effect as well.

hell oc them a bit and youll get to 5970 levels

edit : http://tpucdn.com/reviews/Zotac/GeFo...power_peak.gif

with lower power consumption to0


and now lets look at this grandia 04b ....



Newegg.com - SILVERSTONE Black 8.0mm aluminum front panel, 0.8mm SECC body GRANDIA GD04B Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case


Support power supply up to 180mm long

Support expansion cards up to 11 inches



unless i did the math wrong, thats a fine unit

expensive for a case, if i were you id sneak all of that in a nice ps04b but hey
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 11:35 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,130

My System Specs

Default Total overkill

YouTube - Client Build 2: Small, Silent Powerful; Project Hong Kong Build Overview

The Genni bord rocks
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2010, 12:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 26

My System Specs

Default

Well, I'm probably going to build this thing. Figure it'll be the Silverstone case, because apparently it cools extremely well with stock fans. I will probably put in an Evga P55 V SLi board and then slap in two GTX 260's or 460's. Any recommendations on psu's? ram? I read that the p55's are picky about ram.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2010, 12:55 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

for psu, corsair,seasonic, some may say antecs. dual 460's max loaded and not oc'ed/furmarked should be around 250 watts,duallie with the p55 maybe 100-150 . you can do with little psu but maybe go for the 600-700 watt range.
modular is probably a must
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2010, 08:59 AM
Bao Bao is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raikkonen View Post
Well, I'm probably going to build this thing. Figure it'll be the Silverstone case, because apparently it cools extremely well with stock fans. I will probably put in an Evga P55 V SLi board and then slap in two GTX 260's or 460's. Any recommendations on psu's? ram? I read that the p55's are picky about ram.
I'm using a Seasonic 850W M12D for my HTPC (got a decent deal on slightly used).

The motherboard is an EVGA P55 Micro SLI.

I've only used two sets of memory on this board, but no issues.

(OCZ3P1600LV4GK, then 2x OCZ3G1333LV4G).

--

Also that's an interesting case that you picked, looks nice.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 480: To SLI Or Not To SLI, That Is The Question? TheGregster76 Video Cards 22 June 15, 2010 06:47 PM
New Nvidia Drivers / SLI Multi Monitor + SLI on X58 - 180.48 probationer O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 November 26, 2008 09:40 AM
GPU HSF's for an SLI HTPC. lowfat Air Cooling 1 August 29, 2008 04:54 PM
Tri SLI, Quad SLI, SLI comparisons with 9800GTS, GX2 Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 3 March 31, 2008 03:32 PM