Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 09:12 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

I had my second 6970 sit around for almost two week, and I have 24GB of ram thats still sitting around unsed and not yet installed

I know the feeling all too well.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 10:38 AM
MrDiaz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 576

My System Specs

Default

Hey Chilly don't feel bad man, I can hold on a few of those if you'd like :P
__________________
-- Viva Canada! --
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2011, 09:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 26
Default

Haha great story Xeven. Ive been pondering an HTPC for years now but just cant come up with a perfect build that will do everything so I dont have one at all. So at least you have one.

Mostly i just want to use a nice ATI graphics card to clean up SD and such going to my Plasma. Not as easy as it sounds.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2011, 02:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 156
Default

I have an e3300 and a cheap 5450 with a BFG 450GS in it at the moment to play video. I know if I touch it, soon it'll be much more than the $200 worth of parts I originally assembled it with. I have the same rule with my friend's PC, I'm only allowed now to replace the TIM on the video card, and apply a backplate to for the Vendetta 2 heatsink.

The minute I start with...maybe just one upgrade...well that's a slippery slope and I know I can't trust my self restraint.

Edit: Damn, I just bought a 2GB stick of DDR2 to replace the 1GB stick on the HTPC.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2011, 04:53 PM
Blu's Avatar
Blu Blu is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

Yea I did terrible with my HTPC...I ended up buying so much extra stuff for odds and ends on it it's crazy and the fact that I can't find some of the parts now makes me worry that I might end up having to re buy the parts :(
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2011, 05:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 156
Default

I feel you pain man. That's so not good that you can't find parts you have lying around anymore, sounds like you could almost do another build out of them .

I have the same problem with parts lying around everywhere across 3 locations. I don't quite have Chilly level inventory though, only mixed sets totaling 20GB of RAM myself . I'm going to have to do a clearance sale sometime and clean out all my odds and ends lying around, it's tax season and I have to raise some funds for a RRSP .
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2011, 07:28 AM
Blu's Avatar
Blu Blu is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

^ Yea just hoping I can find everything, I think I'm missing a couple 2TB drives as well but I'm not 100% sure yet so I really need to get out to my living room and clean it up :(
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 05:03 PM
Reyzac's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 270

My System Specs

Default

^ Wow. That sucks.
__________________
Who needs a real doctor when you got my machines and their scary needles?
I also go by Silver Blues in lots of other places.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 08:15 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeven View Post
So I started with my "good enough" HTPC build with the following components

1 - ASUS P5G41 mATX motherboard - $65.00
1 - PDC E5400- $80.00
1 - 300W PS (free, old stuff)
1 - DVD Reader (free, old stuff)
1 - 500 GB (free, old stuff)
1 - Silverstone LC17B - $120.00
1 - Kingston 2GB DDR2 RAM - $50
Total cost: $315.00 + tax

Got everything setup, good to go, running nice and fine. Until I felt I needed a new remote and wireless keyboard + mouse.

So I added:

1 - Remote - $30.00
1 - EX100 keyboard + mouse = $40

Total cost: $385 + tax

Everything was going well. Until I felt the processing power was a bit lacking. The CPU sample I had didn't do very well overclocked so I said, "why not get a better overclocker and stick with that?". So I then added:

1 - E6500 - +$10.00
1 - OCZ StealthXstream 500W - $60.00
1 - ASUS P5G43T PRO - +$25.00

Total cost: $470.0 + tax

Running nice and fine at 3.8Ghz stock cooler until, I loaded the CPU and it ran too hot for my taste. Also I though it wasn't very nice to have the "separate" remote and dongle so I then added:

1 - Silverstone LC20B-M - +$100.0 (VFD + remote)
2 - 90mm Yate Loon - $14.00
2 - 80mm Arctic F8 - $16.00
1 - PCI exhaust fan - $12.00
1 - Coolermaster N520 - $34.00 (Didn't fit outright, missed ceiling by 3mm, so I had to bend the heatpipes a tad)

Total cost: $646.00 + tax

Then I thought, wouldn't it be nice if I could play some games on this too? So then I added:

1 - ASUS GT240 - $115.00

Total cost: $761 + tax

I thought the GT240 was then too slow so I replace it with:

1- ASUS EAH5770 - +$75.00

Total cost: $836 + tax

The EAH5770 ran too hot @90C "normal" gaming and squealed at full fan speed which irritated everyone living at my house so I added:

1 - Arctic Accelero L2 - $20.00

Again, everything was running fine, until I felt I was being CPU limited. An irrational perception I knew, but it's probably "ok" I thought. So I then added:

1 - Q9550 - +$160.00

Total cost: $1016.00

Then I though I needed bluray so I added:
1 - Liteon bluray - $60.00

Total cost: $1076.00

I needed drive space to consolidate my junk I said so I then added:

3 - 2TB WD green - $360.00

Total cost: $1436.00 + tax

Wouldn't it be nice to just have a single remote I said so I bought:

1 - Harmony one - $229.00

This boots too slow I said:

1 - OCZ vertex 60GB + bracket = $165.00

Final Total: $1830+ tax = ~$2050.00

Holy mother. I should have just sticked with my original build. Now I have a medium build that's only used occasionally as a movie player and serves my files from time to time. -__-' Slap my head and call me monkey!
Could be worse you could have done what i did when i built my first HTPC.

HTPC - $900
New Projector - $3000
New Speakers - $1700
New Reciever - $899
PS3 - $400
Scrapped and Parted HTPC Priceless .

And yes do i ever see my self in this thread.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2011, 07:40 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 156
Default

LCD guy, that isn't just a simple HTPC though, that's a freaking home entertainment system +).

Say Blu, if you live in the GTA area I'll volunteer to help you clear up your living room...you could let me keep some of the 'junk' that turns up =D.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HTPC Build JMCD HTPC Systems & Software 9 November 15, 2009 11:14 AM
HTPC build Kerry D HTPC Systems & Software 15 September 22, 2009 07:27 AM
Possible HTPC build lcdguy HTPC Systems & Software 29 November 18, 2008 10:42 AM
Yet another HTPC build- help? misterd HTPC Systems & Software 4 August 1, 2008 10:10 AM
HTPC Build Phobia HTPC Systems & Software 15 July 16, 2008 10:07 AM