Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2010, 08:47 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

You've got the names a little mixed up.

RCA = Composite = Yellow video with Red and White for left/right audio = 480i
RGB = Component = Red, Green Blue video (usually accompanied with a red/white audio cable) which can do up to 1080i (or p, not sure)
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2010, 08:48 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

DealExtreme: $2.50 PC to TV Cable (S-Video + 3.5mm to Composite AV) 5 ft
Problem solved . I've used this with my laptop (integrated 6150SE) and with my 65nm GTX260. Both worked perfectly.

Edit: Just noticed that adapter you found from your 4870X2. That should work as well.
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2010, 11:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

I used to used to have my 7600GT connected to my tv. I used an s-video to component cable. Worked like a charm. As for audio, I just used my pc speaker system which at that time was a FPS 1600 by creative (cambrige soundworks). As soon as I switched to my 8800GT, I couldn't get the s-video to component to work on the same tube tv. Odd...right now I'm using an old P4 northwood with a radeon 7000 with s-video to component and it works.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2010, 05:45 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpfan4ever View Post
I'm home now so I can browse the internets freely. Sorry, I tried to make it clear in the first post. The TV has the red/white/yellow plugs for input, which is the yellow (composite) for video and red/white for sound. The news about NVIDIA sucking for HTPC does not surprise me, but it is saddening that I can't use already owned hardware.
And I've got three S Video adapters, all them the same. All of them useless to me.


EDIT

Just found one of these bad boys in my 4870x2 box. I doubt it'd work though. (Really big picture)

http://www.hisdigital.com/UserFiles/...ter_1_1600.jpg
That should work fine with pretty well any ATI card that has a S Video jack.

You can try a PM to Supergrover to see if he had any luck with Nvidia cards and composite output. I know he put a lot of time in trying to get it to work with one of those 5 1/4 bay LCD displays, but suspect he finally ended up with an ATI card.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2010, 08:16 AM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default

Alrighty, multiple facepalms were had this morning.

First, my TV has an SVideo input. It's on the side opposite of where every other damn connector is on the TV. Secondly, I found my NVIDIA breakout cable/box exactly where I looked yesterday, where it should have been, and it should work. NVIDIA's port isn't SVideo on their cards, it's something else that's similar. Hence a straight back of video card to SVideo input wouldn't work. Luckily I have the choice of now composite or SVideo (if I can find the only SVideo cable I have) because of the breakout box.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2010, 08:56 AM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 465
Default

Why not just pick up something like this? NCIX.com - Buy Patriot Box Office Network Media Player 2.5IN HDD Support USB HDMI LAN MKV RMVB ISO DTS P2P - PCMPBO25 In Canada.



__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2010, 09:03 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

Probably because of the price tag
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2010, 09:07 AM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,728

My System Specs

Default

Because there's no reason to spend money when you're got all the parts for a rig sitting on your floor.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2010, 01:26 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 465
Default

Well....if you have an old VCR kicking around you could just input the S-Video into it and use the Component to the TV?
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2010, 09:55 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,565

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
This CANNOT be done with nvidia cards, i have tried it with several and those adapters or others don't work. You need an ATI card since they give you more control of the output type then nvidias do
The S-video to RCA (well, video out) cable that came with my 6800gt worked fine on my 24" tube tv
For sound just run audio out to the receiver. That cable that Zero linked looks like it will fit the bill!

And to be fair to LionRed, it probably is a better idea buying one of those media players since the interface would be easy to use, it is tiny and takes barely any power and has all the connectors you need on it. You could easily get the money needed for it by selling those old parts. Although you can still make it easy enough for them by putting a single folder on the desktop titled "MOVIES", and you would also have all the regular functions of a computer...

Last edited by headsh0t; July 13, 2010 at 10:06 PM.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Little Dot II Tube Amplifier Wankerfx Buy/Sell & Trade 8 May 26, 2009 07:48 PM
How long does TIM last in the tube? thenewguy001 Air Cooling 6 January 15, 2009 06:28 PM
Tubing and Tube Coils miggs78 Water Cooling 21 August 16, 2008 06:51 PM
What tube is this? biff Water Cooling 4 February 1, 2008 10:30 AM
How to remove the air inside tube? francois methot Water Cooling 18 August 6, 2007 07:23 AM