Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 30, 2010, 04:41 PM
Top Prospect

Default HTPC experts please help me

I am planning on building my first HTPC but i am quite new to this and i seek for advises. Basicaly i already have a file server that i want to use as a HTPC as well but that can still act as a file server. i also use the file server to host teamspeak. In the file server i have the followings:

GA-MA74GM-SH2
amd Phenom II x2 545 @ 3.6ghz
ddr2 4gb memory
Auzentech X-plosion cinema 7.1 sound card
2x1tb wd Black in raid1 for file server purpose
1 250gb segate for OS

I will keep these parts but for the rest like the tv tuner card, remote, etc (except the case wich i can choose alone) i dont have any clue what i need. There is also a problem. i use the Illico box from Videotron with numeric signal and i heard that tv tuner cards dont support the numeric signal for channel switching because of encryptions but i heard there is still a way to record, how? i dont know. i also heard that i need some kind of IR Blaster to simultaneously control HTPC and Illico box but i am not sure how this works and especially where to find a IR Blaster.

so basicaly this HTPC will be used to Navigate internet, listen to music, watch tv, record tv(best quality possible), watch dvd and maybe blue ray and file server

i need advise on the hardware i need (keep in mind i use Illico box) and software. I plan to use windows 7 for the OS

any advises are welcome

thank you
Old July 1, 2010, 05:59 PM
Top Prospect

no one has some answers

anyways i ordered some parts today and i hope i made the good choices based on information i gathered from internet. these are the parts:

Western Digital WD1001FALS Caviar Black 1TB SATA2 7200RPM 4.2MS 32MB 3.5IN Dual Proc Hard Drive OEM
This will be to store tv recordings

Samsung SH-B083L 8X BLU-RAY BD-ROM & DVD Writer Combo Drive SATA 2MB Retail Box