Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2010, 08:44 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Quebec
Posts: 366

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
Have you tried XBMC for Windows (xp, vista or 7)?
I tried it on Win7. It works quite well. I was doing some test with XBMC on my laptop on Linux and it was very slow and navigating in the menus was a pain, but on my desktop and with win7 it's just fine, there's a better driver support , but the PC has some more horsepower too -.- The GUI is really nice.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2010, 09:04 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemoth- View Post
I tried it on Win7. It works quite well. I was doing some test with XBMC on my laptop on Linux and it was very slow and navigating in the menus was a pain, but on my desktop and with win7 it's just fine, there's a better driver support , but the PC has some more horsepower too -.- The GUI is really nice.
i used it aswell with xp and win7, it worked very well on my 5200+ & 1gb ram ..excellent for streaming movies instead of dl'n them..
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2010, 09:13 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,575

My System Specs

Default

I may go that route as there may be some extra things i'll be using with this htpc/server that i know has drivers/works in windows but unsure about in linux. To name a few usb to controller adapters, 20x2 lcd screen in case, my 'olderish' wireless remote for pcs that came with my x1900 back in the day, and remote connection/pc.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2010, 11:29 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

The MAG doesnt support lossless through HDMI but I believe it does through the optical out, I may be wrong.

It is actually easier to get XBMC to run smoothly through minimal linux on alot of applications, and I find with the alaska skin installed menu performance is pretty much lag free on the ATOM/ION builds. I highly recommend this skin, hitcher, the creator, made it as the anti aeon skin, its as minimalistic as you get yet it incorporates more in the way of flagging and video information the aeon did, and adds alot more and looks so much better then the stock confluence skin.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2010, 12:40 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Realityshift View Post
The MAG doesnt support lossless through HDMI but I believe it does through the optical out, I may be wrong.
I really wish it did but I'm pretty sure it won't do DTS HD MA/Dolby True HD MA.
I wanted to get one awhile back because its the perfect size/price for what I need but in the end I just put together a cheap i3 box. I'd still buy one if I found out it did DTS HD MA/Dolby True HD MA, but I read acouple places it didn't. I think maybe Anand even mentioned it in his review.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 03:56 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Well personally its probubly not a feature ill ever need, this was more of a dirt cheap alternative, something that will probubly only see a 42" 1080p tv with HT in a box for my parents and for this it excels completely.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2010, 12:56 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,913

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0bc View Post
I really wish it did but I'm pretty sure it won't do DTS HD MA/Dolby True HD MA.
I wanted to get one awhile back because its the perfect size/price for what I need but in the end I just put together a cheap i3 box. I'd still buy one if I found out it did DTS HD MA/Dolby True HD MA, but I read acouple places it didn't. I think maybe Anand even mentioned it in his review.
You could always just build an i3 itx system if you are looking to bitstream.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2010, 12:02 AM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

I did,just a cheap box nothing fancy.
I looked at the Dell Zino HD also but same deal with audio.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This case got a 10 in Maximum PC Mag. cdn_Madrach Reviews & Articles from the Web 14 December 16, 2011 10:15 AM
XBMC wifi p3t3rson O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 March 9, 2010 10:37 AM
MAG (I'm having mic issues with my BT set) Cadence Gaming 0 January 28, 2010 06:14 PM
XBMC start with Windows? Cypher^64 HTPC Systems & Software 6 September 21, 2009 06:56 PM
XBMC in all its beauty. lowfat HTPC Systems & Software 27 September 18, 2009 05:22 PM