Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 07:12 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default Asus P5E-VM HDMI sound setup

I'm using the digital coax out to a receiver and can't figure out how to get 5.1 going - set at 2 channel right now. The manual shows a nice picture for setup but when I follow that I see nothing like what it shows both with the software that was on the CD as well as what I DL'ed from Asus. I've been looking through all that and what I could find in the control panel and no luck. Can anyone throw me a hint where I can find it? ...unless the digital coax can only do two channel on this mobo which I doubt.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 08:21 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

nevermind... I think this is a no go. I just found a bit on intel's site that says spdif is spdif is limited to 2 channels.... or 6 channels compressed. Bummer!
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2010, 08:51 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,973

My System Specs

Default

6 channels over SPDIF is always compressed. From what I've read so far the ALC883 that the P5E-VM uses does support Dolby Digital Live if that is what you are looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2010, 10:42 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

I did end up getting it going actually. Oddly it wasn't in the soundcard setup/drivers. I tried setting the audio output in TMT to 5.1 - which would make sense to me - and that didn't work but setting it to SPDIF did get the 5.1 working eventhough it was already using the SPDIF as the output anyway and the soundcard setting still says 2 channel. No wonder I had trouble finding the correct settings. TBH it sounded pretty good even though it's obviously a compressed format. I think I'll enjoy my ignorance for now until I can get a proper output and decoder setup for uncompressed audio. I've been eyeing this for a while now, I guess this just made up my mind.

BTW do you know what the format is for compressed? Do they just cut back the bit depth?
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Gigabyte P45-UD3P/R or ASUS P5E-VM HDMI zoob Buy/Sell & Trade 1 July 4, 2009 05:05 PM
No HDMI sound from my P5E-VM biff O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 January 8, 2009 06:45 PM
FS >> Asus P5E-VM HDMI, Danger Den, Scythe, Arctic Cooling NewHall Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 22, 2008 06:21 PM
Asus P5E VM HDMI (g35) + PowerDVD = No go topaimz CPU's and Motherboards 1 February 9, 2008 07:20 PM
P5E-VM HDMI or GA-G33M-DS2R For Overclocking Cptn Vortex CPU's and Motherboards 5 January 23, 2008 03:31 PM