Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2007, 05:26 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 7
Default TV Tuner to rec digital feed

got a question about Tv Tuners recording Digital cable

WinTV-HVR-1800 is a dual tv tuner with one being analog the other being digital. My question is will it decrypt Videotrons Digital signal so I can record and watch digital feed from my PC.

WinTV-HVR-1800 Product description

Or will the Wintv HVR1600 do the same? is there a huge difference between the 2? or is it even noticeable?

WinTV-HVR-1600 Product description

Or is there somthing better out there?

Dont have alot of TV tuner knowledge. But If I could find a better solution then buying Videotrons Extremly over priced PVR (500$) I would be a pig in S*** lol
__________________
Intel E6550 / Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L / Corsair CM2X1024-6400C4 x2 / Segate 320Gb / PNY 8600 GT ddr3 256MB / Coolmaster CM690

Last edited by Wiked; October 13, 2007 at 05:32 AM. Reason: cause I can with out double posting
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2007, 12:36 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Until Canadian cable companies are forces to support cablecard, we're f***ed.

You have to either watch in SD, or buy the PVR from your cable provider.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2007, 12:18 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

Can't you just connect the RCA OUT's form the Digital Decoder Box to the Video in present on many video cards and TV tuners?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2007, 01:04 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

He wants something that will *decrypt* the digital signal. Unfortunately this will not exist until the Canadian government passes legislation that FORCES the cable companies to allow it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2007, 01:40 PM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

Yeah I kind figured that after I posted. It would be nice to do such things.
Our boxes here in Canada don't use cards. I am pretty sure, every one has a unique number and they turn it on or off using this method. I was interested in something of this nature but looking at the Digital satellites instead.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
riva tuner lcdguy Video Cards 0 March 3, 2008 02:20 PM
Help with ODIN's Power Tuner Malam Power Supplies 18 January 9, 2008 10:22 AM
Poor picture quality from TV tuner Sharkylegbreaker HTPC Systems & Software 7 November 29, 2007 03:03 AM
TV tuner/Capture card the_bandit87 Video Cards 2 November 14, 2007 12:16 PM
Need a good TV Tuner for an HTPC Misoprostol HTPC Systems & Software 18 May 15, 2007 02:52 PM