Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 07:37 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,911

My System Specs

Default

I ran Vista on my HTPC for 2 years w/o a hitch. But XBMC Live is likely the way to go. Build a Silent, Standalone XBMC Media Center On the Cheap - Feature - Lifehacker
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 08:16 AM
MAK MAK is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Default

If you want free, try XBMC or Mediaportal. You will find that in both cases there will be features that are easy to implement and you will like and some features you will have struggle with; most likely you will rely on help from user forums.

I never went for either, I didn't have the time to chase down third party plugins and troubleshoot the support issues.

Here's a list of the packages from wikipedia - it might help. I also used to hear a lot of good things about SageTV, but it is not free.

Comparison of PVR software packages - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 09:03 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

MediaPortal has a great forum, and support. I used to use it, but now I have Win7, so I switch between the MCE GUI and regular GUI.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 02:16 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

I checked out both mediaportal and XBMC. I'm sure both have pros and cons, but I think I'll go with XBMC. I've been googling for a remote control that will work with XBMC but I can't seem to find what I'm looking for. Is anyone here using one that works? USB maybe? Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2010, 02:30 PM
MAK MAK is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Default

For remotes, have a look at this HOW-TO:

HOW-TO make Windows boot directly to XBMC (as a shell) - XBMC

Interesting what XBMC supports. You need ExentGhost to translate remote commands into events for XBMC.

You call also look at the XBMC manual pages (default controls) but they say very little, really.

Default Controls - XBMC

Good luck and let us know how you like it!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Build ( Sick Of Slow Single Core ) PureKiwi New Builds 11 December 21, 2009 09:40 PM
Is AMD duron single or dual core ? CactusJoe Troubleshooting 13 March 3, 2009 07:54 PM
HSF for a Quad Core in HTPC case BALISTX Air Cooling 2 August 25, 2008 05:42 PM
Single Core fury chibi_man CPU's and Motherboards 8 January 8, 2008 08:34 PM
Single core AMD --> C2D sswilson Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 April 17, 2007 10:44 AM