Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 01:37 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 469
Default

If you want PVR software. I would suggest SnapStream Beyond TV (for recording TV, etc), or SageTV. XBMC for everything else. If you plan on trying to record HDTV (say from Bell or Rogers), you are going to need a Hauppauge HD PVR 1212 or 1219. You may want to pick up a USB UIRT (they seem to work better then the IR Blasters that come with Hauppauge tuner cards).
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2010, 08:06 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Anyone have any experience with the 1212? I see they use TMT for playback which I already have for playing BD anyway so playback integration into VMC should be pretty easy. Just wondering about setting it up to record... does it have some kind of software that will work with an online guide from Rogers or will it have to be a manual setup like the old VCR's? ... as long as it doesn't flash 12:00!
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2010, 01:57 AM
feerof's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 174

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
For "basic cable", just plug the cable into the TV. It will have a coaxial cable input. If you want digital HD cable, you have to buy/rent a HD decoder or PVR from Shaw/Rogers as their signals are encrypted. The only reason for a HDMI cable into the TV is to pass a HD signal.

I built a HTPC box, and then sold it and bought a PS3 instead. It streams .avi's and music from my computer, does slideshows, plays games, and could surf the net with a add-on keyboard. You need to really examine what you want to do, because most HTPC setups won't work in Canada without a separate set-top box.
Sorry to barge into the topic here... but when you say 'set-top box' you mean something like a black box right? (eg. shaw cable's HD terminal box)

thanks

EDIT: silly me... should have used google before i asked =P
__________________
Bob Saget.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Gaming PC into HTPC - have any advice? ninezero HTPC Systems & Software 7 September 28, 2009 11:03 AM
HTPC Build Advice BALISTX HTPC Systems & Software 13 January 27, 2009 01:41 PM
HTPC Noobie Seeks Advice dadzilla HTPC Systems & Software 3 October 2, 2008 03:32 PM
HTPC Build Phobia HTPC Systems & Software 15 July 16, 2008 10:07 AM
HTPC/Home theatre build... need lots of advice biff HTPC Systems & Software 11 April 16, 2008 03:46 AM