Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 06:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON
Posts: 105
Default Blueray Playback, it seems complicated.

Does anyone have suggestions for getting blueray's to playback under windows 7?
I built on i7 rig for friend. He just threw a blueray drive in, but can't get it to play Blueray discs.
Is there some software that doesn't cost $80, that will play bluerays?
I can see how Blueray is having trouble gaining traction, giving all the hoops you have to jump through.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2009, 06:59 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,930

My System Specs

Default

You need software. And unfortunately all the software out there isn't all that good. You are going to either need:
1. Cyberlink PowerDVD
2. Arcsoft Total Media Theater
3. AnyDVD, rip the movie to your HDD as an mkv, and playback w/ any software.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 11:17 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 409

My System Specs

Default

I heard vlc can do it. I might be wrong, but it is free. won't hurt to try.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 06:38 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,930

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
I heard vlc can do it. I might be wrong, but it is free. won't hurt to try.
It can not.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 07:39 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

option 1 and 3 are my personal fav's.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2009, 09:12 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

option 1 yes. My sound system does not favor option 3 very much.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2009, 08:03 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Drive didn't come with some OEM copy of PowerDVD? That kind of sucks. I remember whenever I bought DVD drives a while back, they always came with PowerDVD5 or 6.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2009, 08:40 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,930

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Drive didn't come with some OEM copy of PowerDVD? That kind of sucks. I remember whenever I bought DVD drives a while back, they always came with PowerDVD5 or 6.
LG comes w/ a bunch of bundled crap. My Lite-on BD however did not.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2010, 04:54 PM
gn2 gn2 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Default

My most recent build with Win7 would only allow WinDVD Pro 2010 to install properly AND playback BD's it uses the Intel X4500HD graphics chipset though, which is likely the restricting item....I've got another Win7 box that allowed ArcSoft TMT3 to install and it works better, using an ATI HD4350 low profile video card...Its a hit and miss proposition to get BD working properly, you are using your time wisely to try different playback options before buying one that ends up not working with your combination of hardware and operating system...

I didn't try PowerDVD because it is the one software company that is actively pursuing breaking different playback options in order to please the DRM idiots...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 3, 2010, 09:09 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default

I have TMT and it works just fine & integrates nicely with VMC... Don't know about win7 though. Also getting into putting BD onto HDD via Lowfat's guide and that works too, though I haven't set up a media center front end to play nice with it.

I really don't know a hell of a lot about this so I may be talking out of my ass here but I've heard of a lot of issues particularly with sound as (I think by law) the software has to look for hardware that is copy protection compliant which has caused some people some issues. I use a mobo that was specifically designed for HT use (Asus P5E-VM HDMI) supporting HD audio and video with a 4670HD (using the HDMI) vid card and on-board digital co-ax out for audio so maybe that has spared me any of the troubles.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
blueray , playback , windows 7

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lg ggc-h20l blueray drive wont let computer start. kyle_L Troubleshooting 4 September 29, 2009 05:59 PM
question about video playback Generic User #2 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 April 27, 2009 02:13 PM
A simple and complicated question Scutum_Deus New Builds 2 September 22, 2008 03:03 AM
Whats the big deal about blueray? Shadowmeph HTPC Systems & Software 7 January 11, 2008 12:08 PM
Blockbuster chooses BlueRay Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 July 6, 2007 09:57 AM