Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2009, 07:02 PM
BrianHanna's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,049
Default media pc?

i think i might be interested in building a Media pc for my living room for my family.

play blu ray, dvd etc etc connect to internet.

whats the most i would be looking at.

NCIX.com - Buy Silverstone Lascala LC17B Black ATX HTPC Case 2X5.25 1X3.5 6X3.5INT W/ 2X80MM Case Fan - LC17B In Canada.

thinkign of making this the case.

the Television that it would be hooked up is 1080i im pretty sure.
__________________
Asus p6x58d-e / i7 930 @ 4ghz / G.skill 1600mhz 2x3gb 9-9-9-24 / Corsair TX750 / XFX HD 6850 1GB x2 @ 870/1070/ Coolermaster HAF 932 / Noctua nh12-up / Western Digital 500g Caviar black /Western Digital 1TB Caviar black 60Gb/ Seagate 7200.11 500g / OCZ Vertex 3 SSD / Samsung 2253BW / G5 / MX518 /

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2010, 02:35 PM
patpond's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Default

Well, I'll start off this with the statement "I am not an expert"

That being said, get ready for my two cents

Some ppl will tell you to spend thousands on an HTPC. I disagree. You can accomplish a decent HTPC with HD for very little money. For example, I had a GeForce Ti4something (can't remember exact name/specs of card... sorry) running on a P3 1.0Ghz board (can't remember specifics here either... sorry)

Anyways, that was pumping Planet Earth (HD) to a HDTV with the res you're looking to run - 1080i (this is basically a beefy 720p btw)

What most ppl say about the HTPC is to silence it. I disagree again. imho it doesn't have to be totally silent. A normal PC doesn't generate too much noise. Once you turn up the TV you won't hear anything. Now, there are those who will take a big crap on me here, but don't listen to them. You can accomplish what you want with very little. Currently I have a P35 board using the HDMI port (no GPU here ) and that's working to decode 1080p content.

Think about it like this, can your PC play HD stuff on your desktop? If so, it can more than likely display it on your TV too.

Back to your questions, that case would look awesome. Any MB/CPU (nothing special) would do the trick. You would probably want to have at least 2GB of RAM.

-Pat Pond

P.S. - Again, Not an Expert, but I have built a few of these
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 02:49 AM
norfolk's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: N1R-1C8
Posts: 430

My System Specs

Default

I am currently using one of these.
HP Pavilion Media Center m8300f - Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3 GHz - Compare prices, reviews, user opinions - Shopper.com
All I need is to install a blu-ray player and some software to run it and I am all set.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 06:00 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

I am running the second PC in my sig as an HTPC hooked up to my 46" Aquos. I do like mine to be silent because i'm not watching TV all the time. One thing I noticed hooking up my receiver was that I had to use DVI -> HDMI for video and an optical cable for audio in order to get more then 2 channel (stereo) audio. Maybe it's my Gigabyte 780g board's fault, I didn't look into it too much. Happy building!
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 06:23 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

just look at my sig there my htpc ( overkill big time but it's more future proofing ) i don't think it makes enough noise to bother anyone using it at all.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 11, 2010, 07:50 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default

Ive made a really good business as of recently selling HTPCs as they are all the rave here since ive sold and setup a few for friends.

List of parts ive been using :

Athlon x3 425 (80% unlock rate with the combos im using)
GIGABYTE GA-MA78LM-S2H
Whatever cheap 4gb kit of ddr2 is on sale
BFG 450w psu
1TB WD green
LG bluray rom (or dvd burner,whatever the customer requests)
Theatre Pro 650/MCE remote
Customer picks case

Win 7 media center takes care of the rest of it.Setup is brutally simple and quick.

These usually run 600ish at the very most and I have yet to hear of any of the machines ive built from that list to have a problem.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2010, 08:18 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Gingerbee... pssst... you don't have any computers in your sig...

Fudd Rucker, What are the advantages of the AMD setup you listed vs. say a e5200/GA-G41M-ES2H which is ~$15 to $20 cheaper? Also are there any notable difference in W7MC vs. VMC? I use VMC and am wondering if it's worth switching over.

@OP, to add to the opinions expressed here re: noise. I'd chose components with with noise reduction in mind but I wouldn't get carried away since it's going to be a minimalist system anyway you're not going to have any screaming fans. when picking a PSU pick one that is known to be quiet (I use and like the corsair 400W BTW), if your picking a vid card and you have the choice might as well get a passive one unless you're gaming heavily. My personal HTPC has a scyth mini-ninja for the cpu, a passive 4670 and use the PSU fan to exhast the warm air, the mini ninja wasn't too expensive and I think I paid an extra $20 or so for the passive version of my vid card and the system is really quiet.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
media server build? cruisx New Builds 11 April 15, 2009 05:04 PM
[FS] HTPC KIT PVR1600, OFFICIAL MS Media Center Remote/keyboard + XP media Center 2005 b1lk1 Buy/Sell & Trade 10 January 9, 2009 03:00 PM
your favorite media player CTA O/S's, Drivers & General Software 25 November 4, 2008 08:27 PM
Nice Media Pc case? dadzilla Cases 1 October 20, 2008 12:36 PM
Media + Video Rendering PC BALISTX New Builds 5 August 25, 2008 09:56 AM