Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   HTPC Systems & Software (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/htpc-systems-software/)
-   -   media pc? (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/htpc-systems-software/26482-media-pc.html)

BrianHanna December 11, 2009 07:02 PM

media pc?

i think i might be interested in building a Media pc for my living room for my family.

play blu ray, dvd etc etc connect to internet.

whats the most i would be looking at.

NCIX.com - Buy Silverstone Lascala LC17B Black ATX HTPC Case 2X5.25 1X3.5 6X3.5INT W/ 2X80MM Case Fan - LC17B In Canada.

thinkign of making this the case.

the Television that it would be hooked up is 1080i im pretty sure.

patpond January 9, 2010 02:35 PM

Well, I'll start off this with the statement "I am not an expert"

That being said, get ready for my two cents :thumb:

Some ppl will tell you to spend thousands on an HTPC. I disagree. You can accomplish a decent HTPC with HD for very little money. For example, I had a GeForce Ti4something (can't remember exact name/specs of card... sorry) running on a P3 1.0Ghz board (can't remember specifics here either... sorry)

Anyways, that was pumping Planet Earth (HD) to a HDTV with the res you're looking to run - 1080i (this is basically a beefy 720p btw)

What most ppl say about the HTPC is to silence it. I disagree again. imho it doesn't have to be totally silent. A normal PC doesn't generate too much noise. Once you turn up the TV you won't hear anything. Now, there are those who will take a big crap on me here, but don't listen to them. You can accomplish what you want with very little. Currently I have a P35 board using the HDMI port (no GPU here :whistle: ) and that's working to decode 1080p content. :punk:

Think about it like this, can your PC play HD stuff on your desktop? If so, it can more than likely display it on your TV too.