Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 01:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Quebec
Posts: 137
Default HD-PVR & ShawDirect

I've been using my HD-PVR for 3 weeks and i am very satisfied. However, i've tried to set up my satelite box (Shawdirect HD) to work with the Ir blaster... I've tried running the utility that irblaster come with to find out my box ID but without sucess. Anyone made it work? I know there is alternative irblaster but i wanted to use the one that come with the box.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 01:37 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

I never got that to work properly either. I ended up switching channels via firewire.

I don't know what PVR software you are using but most of this should apply or get you headed in the right direction.

STB Firewire (IEEE-1394) Support - SageTV Community
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 02:05 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,033

My System Specs

Default

What reciever? Mine has been working fine for years.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 04:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Quebec
Posts: 137
Default

I am using a Motorolla DSR505 hd satellite box and SageTv as well.
I am not sure about the firewire (if it ever have one), I will have to check it out to make it work.
Thanks for the link!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 05:22 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,033

My System Specs

Default

AFAIK there is no firewire on the DSR505. The code set is 159. Look under Starchoice.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 05:57 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

Looks like no serial port either. Getting IR working might be your only choice.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 08:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Quebec
Posts: 137
Default

Nice your code set 159 is working in the blastcfg. I've been trying to find the code set everywhere!
I was trying to make it detect automatically but i was in the 400 lol

Thanks you!

Edit: its not working with sageTV?
Edit2: nvm it work but has some delay? Any tips to fix it?

Last edited by slay3r; December 4, 2009 at 08:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 08:38 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,033

My System Specs

Default

I use BeyondTV so no help here
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 08:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Quebec
Posts: 137
Default

umm ok... then maybe you can help me with this one;

Any way to turn on/off tv with the HD-pvr remote? Should i just go buy another remote that will work with the irblaster? like this one;
Mediagate Windows Vista MCE Infrared Remote Control for Home Premium & Ultimate Black

I am also wondering if the harmony remote make good htpc remote?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 10:12 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,033

My System Specs

Default

Harmony remote won't be any better than the 45 button Hauppauge remote in terms of controlling just the computer. The remote is fully MCE compatible. And no AFAIK it isn't possible to turn the TV off w/ it. You could use a Harmony for that as well controlling the computer though.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinTV PVR-150 & Remote | EverCool Memory Cooler | 1394 Card & FrontX Adapter pcgeezer Buy/Sell & Trade 69 March 28, 2009 10:23 AM
PVR f4ngtooth Off Topic 0 September 18, 2008 06:29 PM
HELP ! Xfi + hauppage pvr 150 matsta31 Audio 8 September 6, 2008 04:57 AM
Access motorola pvr/dvr killerklown Off Topic 0 March 15, 2008 12:43 PM
Adding Extra Drive to Rogers PVR Malam HTPC Systems & Software 0 January 16, 2008 09:22 PM