Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2009, 01:25 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default HTPC Build

I'd like to have an HTPC, split between the idea of a mediabox or an HTPC. If done, it'll be built from an extra PC I have sitting around. I need it to be able to play blu ray rips at 1080p on the bigscreen.

Current specs.
Pentium D 3ghz
2GB 533 ram (2x1GB)
250GB Seagate drive (would obviously add a 1.5tb or two)
7600GT (insufficient probably, looking at a cheap ati card with hdmi - Asus 4670 - 52$?)
Some intel mobo with 1 pci-e slot and 2 PCI slots
DVD RW
300W Sparkle PSU

I would need to buy the USB remote for this as well as a video card, basically trying to weigh my options and see what's best. Would upgrading the video card on this PC suffice for a 1080p HTPC?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 09:25 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default

With the 4670 I think you'll be just fine. I use a 4670 myself and it's nice. My HTPC uses a E3110 but with that vid card my CPU usage during BD playback is only like 10% so I think your CPU won't limit you.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 09:32 AM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,691
Default

CPU may be a bottleneck for v-card
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 09:43 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazmode View Post
CPU may be a bottleneck for v-card
Ok, well the card is cheap enough I'll give it a shot. Hopefully it isn't a bottleneck, if not I can always upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 09:55 AM
Dazmode's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,691
Default

If you get video and sound non-sync on large HD file (4Gb and up), PC is too slow...
__________________
Venom Build: Caselabs SMH10, 3930k, 2x GTX680, MSI BigBangII, 8x Dominators, 2 x D5 , Quad Rad, Adaptec 7805, 4x WD Red, 2x Intel 510, Aquaero 5, 11x GT
Silent Sniper Build: Final Video, XSPC H1 Cube case, Supreme HF, 2xGTX470, GA G1 Sniper, Dominators, 2x Triple rad, Triebwerk Fans, 2x D5, Custom Sleeving
Orange Build: Final Video
HTPC Build: Final Video
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 10:19 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazmode View Post
If you get video and sound non-sync on large HD file (4Gb and up), PC is too slow...
Yeah, my laptop (dual 1.83) with onboard does that on some 1080 videos. This is only displaying at half the res, so it might be ok. If not, a cheap E5200 or something should suffice.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2009, 04:41 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

I know I have a E5200 along with a 8800GT and that plays anything I throw at it. Before the E5200 I had a Celeron 347 OC'd to 4GHz and it could play everything too, well sort of. I had to have nothing running in the background and it would still have the odd issue with some of my more demanding 10+Mbps rips.

As for a remote, I ended up purchasing a Pcusa remote. It works great with Windows 7, although I only used the remote portion for about 5 minutes. I now use my Logitech Harmony remote for it.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 10:57 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
I know I have a E5200 along with a 8800GT and that plays anything I throw at it. Before the E5200 I had a Celeron 347 OC'd to 4GHz and it could play everything too, well sort of. I had to have nothing running in the background and it would still have the odd issue with some of my more demanding 10+Mbps rips.

As for a remote, I ended up purchasing a Pcusa remote. It works great with Windows 7, although I only used the remote portion for about 5 minutes. I now use my Logitech Harmony remote for it.
Looks good, gonna go with that or the mediagate. I assume if your celeron could run it for the most part mine should. If not I'll do a budget upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 11:01 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

Oh yea, I forgot to mention it was all running it through mediaportal.

That Celeron did pretty good considering, but the $60ish I paid for the E5200 was worth it for the upgrade. Plus now I can play NFS: Shift on it, so much nicer on the big screen.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2009, 11:14 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
Oh yea, I forgot to mention it was all running it through mediaportal.

That Celeron did pretty good considering, but the $60ish I paid for the E5200 was worth it for the upgrade. Plus now I can play NFS: Shift on it, so much nicer on the big screen.
I'll have to take a look at my mobo when I get a chance. Hopefully it supports the E5200 if I do need to upgrade.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New HTPC build FrankyG HTPC Systems & Software 3 December 4, 2008 05:02 AM
Possible HTPC build lcdguy HTPC Systems & Software 29 November 18, 2008 10:42 AM
HTPC build help? 3.0charlie HTPC Systems & Software 11 October 4, 2008 02:14 PM
HTPC Build Phobia HTPC Systems & Software 15 July 16, 2008 10:07 AM
Looking to build a HTPC? Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 0 February 16, 2007 10:51 AM