Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2009, 05:52 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default HTPC Question

A couple of questions. I am having with playback of dvd rips. What is basically happening is there is a slight tearing effect happening on my projector (which is why i am currently using my Popcorn Hour for video playback). Any ideas? I have tried Media Portal, VMC, XBMC and Sage TV. All with the same results. The data files reside on my Main Machine on an 8 Drive Raid 10 Array. The files are ISO image files.

Here are the specs.

HTPC
------

Asus MN68 (i think)
AMD 7550 2.5 GHZ
2GB G.skill PC-800
Sapphire 4350 512MB HDMI
Seagate 7200.9 320GB HDD
Intel Pro 1000MT Nic
Windows Vista (since i could not get any drivers for the ehome reciever in xp pro to work)

Any ideas would be great As i would prefer to use something like XBMC.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2009, 07:36 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,882

My System Specs

Default

Codecs? What kind of files are you trying to play? If it's just DVDs, maybe it's Vista's built-in DVD codec that has issues, so perhaps try PowerDVD. If it's H.264/XviD, then maybe try installing ffdshow or similar.

I personally run K-Lite Mega Codec Pack (mainly ffdshow, AC3Filter, DivX H.264 codec), and all is well for me.

Or perhaps it's how you're mounting the ISO over the network? If you use Slysoft VirtualCloneDrive, it has a Buffered I/O option which helps performance over the network.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2009, 08:11 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i installed the latest power dvd and it seems fine now. Looks like i'll have to buy it :(.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2009, 08:13 AM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

try vlc and if that doesn't work, try the k-lite codec pack with it.. you should be golden
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2009, 08:20 AM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 468
Default

Turn on the V Sync in XBMC. Setting - Appearance - Screen - Vertical Blank sync - to always on

It fixed my tearing issue ...last night.
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2009, 08:21 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

ok i will give that a shot.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2009, 12:23 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,882

My System Specs

Default

Yeah the K-Lite package has the Cyberlink MPEG2 decoder in it, so that should technically work fine and it's free.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2009, 12:56 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i'll look into this as well. if i could get xbmc working flawlessly that would be awesome. (how ever i may end up just getting an updated popcorn hour (for DTS-MA and TRU HD passthrough)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2009, 04:47 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

ok so i installed klite and xbmc, i also made the changes to the v-sync and it seems fixed but there is one thing that is really bugging me. Sometimes the interface gets "stuck" and i have to hit alt-f4 to un stick it also the back button doesn't always work. Are these known quirks or is there a way to change the key mappings (as i would prefer not have a keyboard connected to it). Also finally if i wanted to play Bluray rips with it what additional software/hardware would i need to achieve this as i would also want DTS-HD/DTS-ma/Dolby HD pass through since my receiver supports it.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2009, 06:24 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,882

My System Specs

Default

I think you'd need a 5000 series ATI card to do that. Or Auzentech/ASUS's HDMI sound cards.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HTPC Help Burkdaddy New Builds 8 July 23, 2009 06:14 AM
HTPC OS? biff HTPC Systems & Software 25 February 26, 2009 06:09 PM
Question about Audio out from Blue Ray HTPC to 24b 192KHz DAC Recevier Babrbarossa Audio 0 November 4, 2008 01:54 PM
Question about parts for HTPC CrazyScott HTPC Systems & Software 8 October 1, 2008 04:07 PM
My HTPC. TopDogZero Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 1 May 14, 2008 04:53 AM