Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 09:27 AM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default Dolby AC3 decoding analog out soundcard?

Apologize if this has been asked already, i searched and couldnt find an answear.

Asus p5n73-am
logitech z5300

So the htpc i just finished building is working great win7 and xbmc (thanks lowfat) though id like to have dolby digital 5.1 and perhapes dts decoding in the box, so it can output to the 3 analog jacks to the z5300.
Seems that all of the low and mid priced cards can output the signal over the spdif to the receiver, but cant decode it. Or they have features like dolby digital live, headphone, pro logic, but no mention of actually being able to decode 5.1

I have a xonar d2x in my main rig, that id rather not part with. I have an audigy 2 platinum sitting in a box, but i had a terrible time in vista with it, cant imagine win7 is any better.

Any suggestions? It like to stay away from creative, perhapes a xonar d2 or dx?
Thanks
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 09:30 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,973

My System Specs

Default

Decoding isn't done by the soundcard it is done by software. You need either ffdshow or AC3filter to decode AC3/DTS.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 10:53 AM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Oh, cant believe i didnt know that lol. So upon some more googling, looks like xbmc can decode ac3 and dts audio streams, so i probably just neet to setup that, and my correct speaker config.
So i dont need ffdshow or ac3filter then correct?
thx btw lowfat!
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 28, 2009, 11:13 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,973

My System Specs

Default

if you are going to be using xbmc solely then no you don't as it uses its own codecs.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
looking for gamepad with a STIFF analog stick baov Peripherals 1 July 18, 2010 11:22 PM
[WTB] High-end analog 7.1 soundcard lowfat Buy/Sell & Trade 4 August 30, 2009 10:24 PM
spdif in to analog 5.1 out? undacova Audio 5 August 10, 2009 10:35 AM
Xonar to Denon via analog? Cypher^64 Audio 6 November 4, 2008 03:10 PM
Prelude Dolby Driver to be released soon! Robscix Audio 1 October 27, 2007 03:49 PM