Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 07:20 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

The point of the machine will be to game on it.

I'm saying in my original post that the P5Q-EM won't fold or game, so I want another solution. It would, however, do well at being an HTPC.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 30, 2009, 07:33 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

OK- seems like alot pf people misreading the OP- he wants to game on it.

I have tried the SPDIF out on both a 260 and a 285 and they both SUCK for that (often completely garbled)- look for either a motherboard or sound card with a digital audio output- you'll need to run two wires to your amplifier but it's no biggy if your not across the room from it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 01:33 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Okay! THAT is what I wanted to know.... seems like onboard (which is only going to do 1 of 3 things I want to do) or ATI discrete (which will at least do 2 of 3, game and movies) is the way to go.

Is there a pass thru connector from SPDIF going to the ATI cards like the GTX260 or does it do it some other way?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 05:42 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

HTPC Systems & Software - Hardware Canucks

Anyway, you could just get a cheap mATX LGA775 ASRock motherboard, a 4870/4890 and an Omega Striker 7.1 or something and voila, you have a perfectly capable gaming HTPC with high quality sound.

I don't know much about them so that's all I could tell you. Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 09:34 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,116

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Is there a pass thru connector from SPDIF going to the ATI cards like the GTX260 or does it do it some other way?
You don't need to use one. The ATI cards support full 7.1 LPCM without the use of any connectors.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 02:27 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Well that's bloody slick, how does it work? As part of the driver installation does it automatically work or do you have to set your sound to use "ATI digital out"?

Is it possible to use your regular sound output and then use ATI's HDMI LPCM at the same time?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 05:13 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,116

My System Specs

Default

W/ Windows 7 & Vista you can use more than one sound source. You have to just go in to the sound preferences and set the default before playback, however you can also use this.
Kevin Chiu: Windows Vista Volume Mixer Trick

It should work but I haven't used it in a few years so I don't know for sure.

When you install the newest CAT's they install the sound drivers as well. Then just go in to the Windows Sound preferences, and set the ATI as default, and 7.1. Your receiver should show 7.1 LCMP or multichannel PCM or something along those lines.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2009, 06:46 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

That's good info, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 09:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 7
Default

I'm not sure if it matters to you, but the hardware in this thread does not support the PAP HDCP crap. If you want to bitstream the new HD codecs (TruHD, DTS HD etc) to a receiver, you'll need the 5xxx series of Radeon.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 11:44 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Oh, it definately matters to me, thanks for the info, I appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Off topic watercolling: Any webdesign gurus here? Dazmode Water Cooling 19 November 30, 2009 04:43 PM
HTPC Help Burkdaddy New Builds 8 July 23, 2009 07:14 AM
Need some advice from Network Gurus Prof. Dr. Silver Networking 23 July 11, 2009 02:18 AM
Need gamepad help from Linux gurus, please! vulcan500rider O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 June 3, 2009 08:52 AM