Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 08:41 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Red Deer, AB
Posts: 72
Default XBMC start with Windows?

I went through all the setting and google and couldn't find out how to get XBMC to start on startup with Windows 7. Anyone know how to do this?

Thanks.
__________________
Daily Laptop: Toshiba A300D w/Corsair X128 SSD
HTPC: Phenon II 940B, ASUS M4A78-e, 2x2gig XP2 Mushkin 8500, 1 x 1TB Seagate, 3 x 2TB WD Green, Corsair TX 750W PSU and 5 Scythe Kama-flex fans in a Silverstone LC20.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 08:44 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,924

My System Specs

Default

Why not just make an XBMC shortcut and add it to the Startup folder?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 09:22 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Red Deer, AB
Posts: 72
Default

That's normally how I'd do it in XP, but I didn't think that it could be done that way in Vista/7.
__________________
Daily Laptop: Toshiba A300D w/Corsair X128 SSD
HTPC: Phenon II 940B, ASUS M4A78-e, 2x2gig XP2 Mushkin 8500, 1 x 1TB Seagate, 3 x 2TB WD Green, Corsair TX 750W PSU and 5 Scythe Kama-flex fans in a Silverstone LC20.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 09:25 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

i believe so
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 09:38 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Red Deer, AB
Posts: 72
Default

I'll have to check it out when I get home.
__________________
Daily Laptop: Toshiba A300D w/Corsair X128 SSD
HTPC: Phenon II 940B, ASUS M4A78-e, 2x2gig XP2 Mushkin 8500, 1 x 1TB Seagate, 3 x 2TB WD Green, Corsair TX 750W PSU and 5 Scythe Kama-flex fans in a Silverstone LC20.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 10:08 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Yeah it's really the easiest way to do it. Shouldn't be a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2009, 06:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Red Deer, AB
Posts: 72
Default

Just in case anyone else is wondering, to put things in the start up menu in Windows 7 go to the cmd prompt and type shell:startup.
__________________
Daily Laptop: Toshiba A300D w/Corsair X128 SSD
HTPC: Phenon II 940B, ASUS M4A78-e, 2x2gig XP2 Mushkin 8500, 1 x 1TB Seagate, 3 x 2TB WD Green, Corsair TX 750W PSU and 5 Scythe Kama-flex fans in a Silverstone LC20.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XBMC in all its beauty. lowfat HTPC Systems & Software 27 September 18, 2009 05:22 PM
Windows 7 64-bit RC and Windows Home Server Justin Cider O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 August 8, 2009 05:24 AM
Help NEED A BOOT CD IN THE DRIVE TO START WINDOWS!!!! Madeinedmundston Troubleshooting 12 December 5, 2008 02:39 PM
Windows was unable to start erikpilon O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 October 10, 2007 04:00 PM
Windows wont start SCW O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 September 25, 2007 01:17 AM