Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2010, 07:24 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
For file renaming and content management I use Ember media manager for my movies, it scrapes from IMDB, and various other sources. You can pick and choose your fanart, posters, and all the imdb info. It does a great job of finding high quality images for the fanart. You can manage all your blue ray rips, and even set it to automatically update your XBMC setup, with any new movies. They are supposed to be adding TV support, but nothing as of yet.

For renaming TV shows to the proper format I use a program called TVRename. It's similar to Ember, as it allows you to add all the season and episode info to nfo files, all of which work with XBMC. And being able to batch rename everything saves so much time. It also compares your files to the actual episode/season info, and will tell you if you are missing episodes, or if they do not follow the proper aired order.
Have any 'tutorial' in how to use tvrenamer, so far its not doing anything even if i point it to the right folder.

And i guess same goes with ember...

Last edited by Arinoth; July 4, 2010 at 07:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2010, 10:35 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

BTW Ember has TV support. Of course I learn this AFTER i spend 3 hours w/ TVRenamer. It is far superior too.
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2010, 08:27 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

I haven't been able to figure out how to get ember to behave with my tv shows, no problems with my movies.
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2010, 09:40 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

It is no different for TV Shows. The first time you fire up Ember it asks for your movies, then your TV Shows. I haven't figured out how to add a library afterward though. Which is pretty lame.
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2010, 02:20 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

That i did figure out, you need to make each 'directory' recursive, it will search/find new movies\tv shows added to it.
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2010, 02:46 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
That i did figure out, you need to make each 'directory' recursive, it will search/find new movies\tv shows added to it.
What I meant was if I wanted to add another folder. Lets say I added E:\Movies and I wanted to add D:\Movies. I ended up just erasing Ember, then reinstalling.
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2010, 02:48 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

Oh there is a way to do that i believe, add it as a source, but i also do a clear all caches and clean database as well.
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2010, 09:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for the guide!
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2010, 12:09 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

My tv card is starting to crap out so I am wondering what is a good remote to buy so that I can start up XBMC and access my video files ?
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2010, 05:08 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Just installed XBMC last night, that was absolutely painless.... scraper found and loaded up the movie folder and the remote worked right away.

Shadowmeph: I don't believe you have much choice. I think NCIX only has one or two remotes to buy....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XBMC in all its beauty. lowfat HTPC Systems & Software 27 September 18, 2009 05:22 PM
Some blurays are choppy... biff HTPC Systems & Software 8 September 5, 2009 08:03 PM
Looking for software recomendations for DVD ripping Cowinacape O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 November 24, 2008 09:14 PM
Best DVD Burning/Ripping Software? bojangles O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 October 11, 2008 10:43 AM
HTPC Software/Codecs Thunderbirt HTPC Systems & Software 10 January 24, 2008 05:35 PM