Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 12:16 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default

I've just settled into keeping the anydvd rips as is. Not very HDD friendly at 35GB a movie average but I like the fact that when I play it, it's as if the actual disk is in the drive... menus intact and all. I followed lowfat's guide and it works great. I found average movie size was ~20GB after the junk was stripped out.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 04:55 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 125

My System Specs

Default

Yep, slysoft has some good stuff, I bought the whole lifetime package back in 2006 or so, one of the better software buys I've made. I figure almost 3 per 100 gigs, that's 54 on a 2TB drive. WD Green for a hundred and a half, 3 bucks in storage per. Done in an hour or less too.
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 08:56 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,947

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
I've just settled into keeping the anydvd rips as is. Not very HDD friendly at 35GB a movie average but I like the fact that when I play it, it's as if the actual disk is in the drive... menus intact and all. I followed lowfat's guide and it works great. I found average movie size was ~20GB after the junk was stripped out.
If you keep the movie as an iso you need PowerDVD or TMT to play it correct?
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 04:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 125

My System Specs

Default

You still need a player. Slysoft's Virtual Clone Drive makes the iso appear as a drive, but afaik there's no freeware players out there. I didn't much like PowerDVD, so I bought TMT3, that works great.
SlySoft Virtual CloneDrive
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 06:43 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
If you keep the movie as an iso you need PowerDVD or TMT to play it correct?
I didn't rip it into an ISO, just a straight rip. But yeah you need a player, I use TMT. I can either open up the folder from within TMT or I've associated the index.bdmv to TMT so I can also just double click on that file in windows explorer. I did get It going in XBMC was it was pretty clunky and only worked so-so. Maybe I just need to spend more time with it.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2010, 07:17 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,947

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
I didn't rip it into an ISO, just a straight rip. But yeah you need a player, I use TMT. I can either open up the folder from within TMT or I've associated the index.bdmv to TMT so I can also just double click on that file in windows explorer. I did get It going in XBMC was it was pretty clunky and only worked so-so. Maybe I just need to spend more time with it.
The reason I started ripping them in to mkv's was to get rid of the need to use either TMT or PowerDVD. If I have to pay $100 for software. I'd much rather spend it on software that works all the time (AnyDVD). Well that and the fact that back when I started getting lossless audio was impossible besides using FLAC. I don't suppose anyone know if bitstreaming TrueHD/DTS-HD works in an mkv?
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 08:10 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default

Initially I was using VMC and TMT integrates seamlessly and works perfectly for playing physical BDs. In a straight up windows environment it works perfectly too for playing the ripped versions but seems to have issues being integrated into a front end nicely... not sure why. I don't know why it's so hard to make a link in XBMC to launch a file using an external program and return to XBMC screen when that third party program is closed but apparently it is, it's the exact same thing as having an icon on your desktop. But I'm not a programmer or an XBMC guru so I'm not one to talk. I did find a guide to do this but it worked not so well and was pretty clunky, but that was some time ago. Maybe someone has come up with something better and more streamlined by now.

Part of the way I like to setup my HTPC is to work like what a commercial offering would so I can just hand the remote to anyone and say 'here, use it' and they can get around just fine without a training session. So by that I'm kind of picky how 'seamlessly' the whole system works.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2010, 08:29 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
The reason I started ripping them in to mkv's was to get rid of the need to use either TMT or PowerDVD. If I have to pay $100 for software. I'd much rather spend it on software that works all the time (AnyDVD). Well that and the fact that back when I started getting lossless audio was impossible besides using FLAC. I don't suppose anyone know if bitstreaming TrueHD/DTS-HD works in an mkv?

I'm not 100% sure how to do it all, but I know that you can get TrueHD, DTS-HD and DTSMA in mkv files.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2010, 12:53 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,947

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
I'm not 100% sure how to do it all, but I know that you can get TrueHD, DTS-HD and DTSMA in mkv files.
At the time of all my ripping it wasn't a possibility. Now that I am using an ATI 5-series card I just ripped an episode of The Tudors that had a TrueHD track. With a whole lot of playing around w/ settings I was able to get it to work flawlessly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
Initially I was using VMC and TMT integrates seamlessly and works perfectly for playing physical BDs. In a straight up windows environment it works perfectly too for playing the ripped versions but seems to have issues being integrated into a front end nicely... not sure why. I don't know why it's so hard to make a link in XBMC to launch a file using an external program and return to XBMC screen when that third party program is closed but apparently it is, it's the exact same thing as having an icon on your desktop. But I'm not a programmer or an XBMC guru so I'm not one to talk. I did find a guide to do this but it worked not so well and was pretty clunky, but that was some time ago. Maybe someone has come up with something better and more streamlined by now.

Part of the way I like to setup my HTPC is to work like what a commercial offering would so I can just hand the remote to anyone and say 'here, use it' and they can get around just fine without a training session. So by that I'm kind of picky how 'seamlessly' the whole system works.
I don't know if you rip your blurays or not. But I have XBMC launch MPC-HC every movie/tv show that has a flac, truehd, or dtshd soundtrack. After the movie/episode is finished, MPC-HC closes and it returns back to XBMC.

I'll try to update the guide on how to play a bitstreamed MKV as well as how to use an external player properly in XBMC.
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2010, 12:35 PM
p3t3rson's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I'll try to update the guide on how to play a bitstreamed MKV as well as how to use an external player properly in XBMC.
I know I for one would appreciate such a guide.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XBMC in all its beauty. lowfat HTPC Systems & Software 27 September 18, 2009 05:22 PM
Some blurays are choppy... biff HTPC Systems & Software 8 September 5, 2009 08:03 PM
Looking for software recomendations for DVD ripping Cowinacape O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 November 24, 2008 09:14 PM
Best DVD Burning/Ripping Software? bojangles O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 October 11, 2008 10:43 AM
HTPC Software/Codecs Thunderbirt HTPC Systems & Software 10 January 24, 2008 05:35 PM