Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2009, 05:31 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,928

My System Specs

Default

Its a Media Front end. Like Windows Media Center. Add your movies, tv shows, etc. And as long as you set up the scrapers properly it will grab all the fanart, dvd covers, synopsis', etc.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2009, 05:44 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

very nice i am playing with it now but i see have a bit of learning to do befoe i get the full jist of it:)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2009, 01:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default

check out the aeon hitched skin. best looking skin imo. haven't figured out how to get it to work yet as i get errors with the new build of xbmc with win7
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2009, 04:35 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,928

My System Specs

Default

Every variation of Aeon I used i did not like. The cut down on the user interface to make things prettier.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2009, 05:17 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Its a Media Front end. Like Windows Media Center. Add your movies, tv shows, etc. And as long as you set up the scrapers properly it will grab all the fanart, dvd covers, synopsis', etc.
I spent days trying to figure out how to setup scrapers, but my movies still appear as filenames in folders, not a single piece of background art. :help:
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2009, 05:27 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,928

My System Specs

Default

So you go in to videos. Click add source, select your movie folder. At the bottom select set content. Next screen is where you pick the scraper. I suggest going w/ IMDB but allow TMDB. If you did all this and you still can't view backgrounds images, etc you are in 'library mode' The stock skin AFAIK can only do library mode. You can use MediaStream which is bundled w/ XMBC. That way you can go to 'Movies' on the home screen. Here you should see your movies correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2009, 06:17 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 468
Default

Scrappers are already in XBMC. No need to go find them to install. Took me a couple times trying XBMC to figure it out myself.
Once I found em I was like sob, they are in here.

Not sure where he is going wrong lowfat. But mine was in mapping the folders. Then forgetting to set content.
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2009, 11:07 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

Yes, set content was the key, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 05:09 PM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,977

My System Specs

Default

This is a fantastic looking xbmc skin.
makes me want to go out and build a htpc now lol
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 06:02 PM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

Now I'm looking for a good irremote.ini presets for my Hauppauge 45-button remote.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes