Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > HTPC Systems & Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2009, 07:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default 2gb or 4 gb of ram for my htpc?

trying to put together a htpc and i'm trying to decide if i should purchase 2 gb or 2 gb of ddr2-800. so far i just have the mobo and cpu which is the gigabyte 785g and an AMD 245

would 2 gb of ram be sufficient or should i spend the extra money and get 4 gb?

Thanks for helping out the newb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2009, 09:07 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

I would think that 2 gb would be allot of ram that is what I have and I probably hardly use half of it
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 06:47 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

2 gb and your good to go. jmo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 07:45 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

I have 4gb in mine cause it was cheap. I also someday.. hope to play games on it.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 08:02 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Red Deer, AB
Posts: 72
Default

I have 4 gigs on mine as well cause it is so cheap.
I took 2 out to do trouble shooting and it just took soooo long to boot. lol I don't think I'd ever build a machine with less than 4 now.
__________________
Daily Laptop: Toshiba A300D w/Corsair X128 SSD
HTPC: Phenon II 940B, ASUS M4A78-e, 2x2gig XP2 Mushkin 8500, 1 x 1TB Seagate, 3 x 2TB WD Green, Corsair TX 750W PSU and 5 Scythe Kama-flex fans in a Silverstone LC20.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2009, 11:56 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

amen cypher, MCE (vista/windows 7) boots too slow for my taste when it's running 2GB. And with PC-800 being as cheap as it is, its a no brainer.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 09:34 AM
Efx Efx is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 34
Default

4Gb, its pretty cheap.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 09:49 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

I think 2GB should be fine as most that software does not take up a lot of memory when running.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 10:03 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,960

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grinder View Post
amen cypher, MCE (vista/windows 7) boots too slow for my taste when it's running 2GB. And with PC-800 being as cheap as it is, its a no brainer.
well you shouldn't be using MCE anyways
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2009, 11:54 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Red Deer, AB
Posts: 72
Default

That's what I'm using and love it. What would you suggest that has an all in one menu system like MCE thats easy for the family to navigate?
__________________
Daily Laptop: Toshiba A300D w/Corsair X128 SSD
HTPC: Phenon II 940B, ASUS M4A78-e, 2x2gig XP2 Mushkin 8500, 1 x 1TB Seagate, 3 x 2TB WD Green, Corsair TX 750W PSU and 5 Scythe Kama-flex fans in a Silverstone LC20.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] HTPC Stuff - 8600GT, 2GB DDR2-667 ImmaPC Buy/Sell & Trade 7 May 26, 2009 08:15 PM
[WTB] 2x 2Gb DDR3 Ram 3.0charlie Buy/Sell & Trade 1 April 16, 2009 07:12 PM
Cheapest 2GB RAM that would do the trick?! Raptor-G RAM 0 November 24, 2008 06:40 PM
FS: Antec Media Center PC 1000GB 2GB RAM 2.53GHZ HTPC magixx Buy/Sell & Trade 10 September 23, 2008 03:29 PM